KIMBALL -- Winner Area High School picked up where it left off last season by scoring a 10-point win over its host in the Kimball/White Lake/Platte-Geddes invite on Saturday.

The Warriors saw 15 wrestlers reach the podium, with nine finalists and six champions to rack up 221.5 points.

Kaden Keiser bumped up to 126 pounds after winning the Class B state title at 120 last season and cruised to win, beating Wagner’s Lance Soukup by forfeit in the finals. Fellow state champion Trevor Peters beat Sunshine Bible Academy’s Teigan Clark by decision, 7-1. Another Winner state champion, Sam Kruger, beat Parkston’s Cordell Murtha via a 5-3 decision at 160.

The Warriors also got wins from Riley Orel (138), Jack Kruger (145) and Achilles Willuweit (285).

KWLPG boasted three champions in Kyler Konstanz (113), Carter Lenz (132) and Levi Nightingale (182), while 10 more reached the podium.

K.J. St. Pierre began his 220-pound state title defense with a win for third-place Wagner, pinning Winner’s Preston Norrid in 3 minutes, 29 seconds in the finals. The Red Raiders also saw Jhett Breen (106), Soukup, Riley Roberts (132), Bradyn Lhotak (138) and Preston Nedved (160) each take second.

Last year’s 106-pound champion Riley Weber, of Parkston, captured the tournament title at 120 with 42-second fall over Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington.

Mount Vernon/Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney’s Hadley Tobin (106) and Hunter Pranger (170) also finished on top of the podium, as did Marion/Freeman’s Clayton Smith at 195.

Burke/Gregory produces five champions at Stanley County invite

FORT PIERRE -- Burke/Gregory ran away with the Stanley County invite on Saturday, besting second-place Pierre by more than 40 points.

Burke/Gregory posted 209 points behind 15 placewinners and five tournament champions, including, Owen Hansen (120), Jordan Vosika (152), Frank Even (160), Finn Hanson (170) and Rhoss Oliver (220).

Owen Hansen scored pin on Pierre’s Nate Williams at 1:45 of the finals, while Vosika pinned Bennett County’s Mason Heath at the 3:30 mark to win at 152. Even also pinned his finals opponent, taking down Faith’s Hugh Groves in 2:21 and Finn Hanson grinded to a 3-1 decision against Bennett County’s Weston Ireland. Oliver pinned Stanley County’s Sydney Tubbs in 28 seconds to win at 220.

Lyman’s Bryson Muirhead took the top spot in 113 with 53-second pin of Burke/Gregory’s Jackson Bauld in the finals as the Raiders took fifth behind second-place finishes from Tance Wagner (138) and Tyrone Oldenkamp (145).

Chamberlain takes O’Neill (Neb.) invite title

O’Neill, Neb. -- Chamberlain crossed the border into Nebraska and returned with the O’Neill invite championship after a 2.5-point win over Nebraska-based Valentine.

The Cubs had 11 wrestlers reach the podium and four champions to total 197.5 points as the lone South Dakota school in the tournament.

Nash Hutmacher recorded four consecutive pins -- the first three in less than a minute -- to take the heavyweight championship, capped by a 1-minute, 38-second pin in the finals.

Gabe Skustad cruised to a title at 132, earning three pins and a technical fall, while Remington Rossow capped his day with a pin in 1:07 at 170. Jasiah Thompson took the 182-pound championship by pinning all four of his opponents, including Neligh-Oakdale (Neb.)’s Dawson Kaup in the finals in 5:42.

Crownover starts season by winning Top of the Rock

DELL RAPIDS -- Bon Homme/Scotland/Avon’s Josh Crownover began his quest for a third consecutive state championship with a win in the Top of the Rock invite on Saturday.

Crownover capped off his day by pinning Parker’s Charlie Patten in 1 minute, 40 seconds to take the 182-pound title.

BHSA would go on to finish fourth with 146 points, behind champion Canton (229.5), second-place Parker (176) and third-place McCook Central/Montrose (163.5).

Jackson Kaul earned an 8-0 major decision over Brock Kotalik for BHSA in the 106B finals, while Brady Bierema (120), Isaac Crownover (132), Jordan Gall (182) and Micah DeBoer (285) were all runner-ups.

For MCM, Jacob Cheeseman captured a championship at 160 with 4-0 decision over Dell Rapids’ Brayden Gee. Jackson Remmers (126), Carter Randall (138) and Blake Gessner (170) also took second for the Fighting Cougars.

Howard takes second at Flandreau Booster invite

FLANDREAU -- Howard had four champions and eight finalists, but it wasn't enough to overtake Madison for the Flandreau Booster Club Invitational.

The Tigers finished with 169 points, but the Bulldogs posted 205 to get the win.

Riley Genzlinger won a 2-1 decision over Madison's Sam Olson in overtime of the 126-pound finals, while Kieffer Klinkhammer pinned Garretson's Hunter Abraham in 1:20 of the 132 finals. Defending state champion Lane Miller scored an 8-2 decision against Elk Point-Jefferson's Skyler Swatek to take the 138 title and Isaac Feldhaus pinned Garretson's Hayden Stoterau in the finals at 220.

Karsten Hamilton (120), John Callies (152), Ty Beyer (160) and Gabriel Turpin (182) all took second for Howard.