Winner Area posts five champions, claims KWLPG Invitational

Busy Saturday opens wrestling tournamnet season

Winner Area's Jack Peters and Parkston's Cade Grill battle for position during a 152-pound match Saturday, Dec. 4 at the KWLPG Invitational in Kimball. (Marcus Traxler / Republic)

KIMBALL — Behind five champions, Winner Area opened the high school wrestling tournament season Saturday with a convincing win at the Kimball/White Lake/Platte-Geddes Invitational.

The Warriors scored 244 points, outmuscling the host Wildkats by 40 points. Mount Vernon/Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney was third with 187 points in a field that included mostly Region 3B teams that battle for trips to the state tournament in mid-February.

Maxton Brozik (113 pounds), Kaden Keiser (145), Riley Orel (152) Jack Kruger (170) and Joey Cole (182) all won their classes on Saturday, with Brozik winning all three matches with pins in the tournament, with Keiser winning his bracket with three pins and a major decision in the championship match.

For KWLPG, Kasen Konstanz (120), Lucas Lenz (138), Grayson Hanson (160) and Levi Nightengale (195) each won individual titles. Lenz had four pins in a time of 7:31 en route to the 138-pound title.

Hadley Tobin (126) and Cole Pranger (220) were winners for MVPCS, while Jhett Breen had four pins on the way to winning the 132-pound title for Wagner. Gage Reichert was the bracket winner at 106 pounds for Parkston. Quinten Christensen, of Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington, had three pins to pick up the 285-pound title for the Warhawks.


Mount Vernon/Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney's Griffin Tobin, left, tries to bring down Wagner's Gannon Knebel during a 152-pound match Saturday, Dec. 4 at the KWLPG Invitational in Kimball. (Marcus Traxler / Republic)

Howard finishes second at Flandreau meet

FLANDREAU — Howard claimed second place at the Flandreau Invitational on Saturday, topped by Madison in the 12-team tournament.

The Bulldogs had 187.5 points, followed by Howard with 138 points and Deuel in third place with 121 points.

Connor Giedd was the tournament champion at 106 pounds for the Tigers, getting the seventh-grader out to a 7-0 start to the season, with senior John Callies doing the same at 160 pounds. Tate Miller won the 120-pound weight class and Calvin Halverson finished second at 170 pounds. Karsyn Feldhaus finished third at 138 pounds, with Karsten Hamilton fourth at 145.

MCM second at Top of the Rock Invite

DELL RAPIDS — McCook Central/Montrose had three individual champions at the Top of the Rock Invitational to pick up a second-place team finish on Saturday.

Canton won the team scoring with 182.5 points, followed by the Fighting Cougars with 150.5, edging Parker at 150 points. Bon Homme/Scotland/Avon was fourth with 124.5 points.

Trystan Traupel (113) earned the bracket title with three pins, while Jackson Remmers (145) and Carter Randall (160) marched to individual championships. Elliott Chase (285) took second place for MCM.


For Bon Homme/Scotland/Avon, Jackson Kaul (106), Tyler Tjeerdsma (126) and Isaac Crownover (182) all were individual champions and Brock Kotalik took second place at 120 pounds. Peyton Hellman won the girls 132-pound bracket with four pins, all in the first period for BHSA.

KWLPG Invitational

Saturday at Kimball

Team scores: 1. Winner Area 244, 2. Kimball/White Lake/Platte-Geddes 204, 3. Mount Vernon/Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney 187, 4. Wess. Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington 139, 5. Wagner 121.5, 6. Parkston 120, 7. Miller/Highmore-Harrold 100.5, 8. Warner/Northwestern 65.5, 9. Marion/Freeman 32, 10. Sunshine Bible Academy 26, 11. Andes Central/Dakota Christian 13.

Individual results

106 — Championship: Gage Reichert (Parkston) 3-0, 8th. over Talon Ping (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) 2-1, 8th. (Dec 13-6); Third: Ashton Hill (WSWWW) 3-1, Fr. over Keagan Hill (MVPCS) 2-2, 7th. (Dec 7-0)

113 — Championship: Maxton Brozik (Winner) 3-0, So. over Gavin Braun (KWLPG) 2-1, Fr. (Fall 5:40); Third: Kaden Holzbauer (Parkston) 3-1, Fr. over Karstyn Lhotak (Wagner) 2-2, So. (TB-1 2-1)

120 — Championship: Kasen Konstanz (KWLPG) 3-0, So. over Carter Sommer (Parkston) 2-1, Fr. (Fall 3:04); Third: Kellan Hurd (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) 4-1, Fr. over Konner Osborn (Winner) 2-2, Fr. (Dec 7-1)


126 — Championship: Hadley Tobin (MVPCS) 4-0, Sr. over Karson Keiser (Winner) 2-1, Fr. (Dec 3-1); Third: Ethan Rearick (WSWWW) 4-1, 8th. over Spencer Sargent (Sunshine Bible) 3-2, Fr. (Dec 8-2)

132 — Championship: Jhett Breen (Wagner) 4-0, So. over Kaleb Osborn (Winner) 2-1, Sr. (Fall 3:31); Third: Iden Myers (KWLPG) 3-1, Fr. over Austin Hauge (MVPCS) 3-2, Sr. (Dec 3-2)

138 — Championship: Lucas Lenz (KWLPG) 4-0, Fr. over Zach Vanzee (Parkston) 2-1, Fr. (Fall 1:05); Third: Clayton Dulany (Warner/Northwestern) 4-1, Jr. over Landon Boyd (MVPCS) 2-2, So. (Fall 1:32)

145 — Championship: Kaden Keiser (Winner) 4-0, Sr. over Carter Lenz (KWLPG) 3-1, Jr. (MD 14-2); Third: Drew Gerlach (MVPCS) 3-1, Jr. over Riley Roberts (Wagner) 4-2, So. (Dec 7-1)

152 — Championship: Riley Orel (Winner) 4-0, Jr. over Griffin Tobin (MVPCS) 2-1, Sr. (Dec 7-2); Third: Gannon Knebel (Wagner) 5-1, 8th. over Ryder Rowland (MHH) 3-2, So. (Fall 2:31)

160 — Championship: Grayson Hanson (KWLPG) 3-0, Sr. over Gunner Brueggeman (MHH) 2-1, Jr. (Dec 7-0); Third: Kolter Kramer (Parkston) 4-1, Fr. over Jude Sargent (Winner) 2-2, So. (Fall 1:51)

170 — Championship: Jack Kruger (Winner) 4-0, Jr. over Keegan Haider (WSWWW) 2-1, Jr. (Dec 6-5); Third: Alex Pudwill (Warner/Northwestern) 3-1, So. over Tim Bouza (Wagner) 2-2, So. (Fall 0:40)

182 — Championship: Joey Cole (Winner) 3-0, Sr. over Noah Mahoney (Parkston) 1-1, Sr. (Fall 2:32); Third: Tate Hoffman (MHH) 3-1, Jr. over Reece Risseeuw (MVPCS) 2-2, Sr. (Dec 8-2)

195 — Championship: Levi Nightingale (KWLPG) 3-0, Sr. over Charley Pravecek (Winner) 2-1, Sr. (Dec 3-1); Third: Camden Jost (WSWWW) 3-1, Jr. over Nolan Dvorak (Wagner) 2-2, Sr. (Fall 3:28)

220 — Championship: Cole Pranger (MVPCS) 2-0, Sr. over Preston Cavalier (Warner/Northwestern) 1-1, Fr. (Fall 0:41); Third: Dalton Deffenbaugh (KWLPG) 2-1, 8th. over Mason Stone (ACDC) 1-2, Fr. (Dec 2-0)

285 — Championship: Quinten Christensen (WSWWW) 3-0, Sr. over Kellen Cassidy (MVPCS) 1-1, Sr. (Fall 4:12); Third: Brennan Leines (Wagner) 2-1, Sr. over Kameron Styles (KWLPG) 2-2, Sr. (Dec 1-0)

Traxler is the assistant editor and sports editor for the Mitchell Republic. He's worked for the newspaper since 2014 and has covered a wide variety of topics. He can be reached at
What To Read Next
The six GPC Classic games will be held at Corsica-Stickney High School.
Mount Vernon/Plankinton coach Eric Denning and Brad Bartscher of the DWU Classic will be among the guest speakers at the Mitchell Quarterback Club meeting on Monday, Jan. 30 at The Depot.
After taking down Sioux Center on Friday, the Marlins stumbled against Aberdeen, dropping the contest on the road Sunday.
On Saturday, the Marlins fell to Sioux Falls-1, before defeating Sioux Center on Sunday.