A banner senior year for Mitchell High School's Chelsea Brewster continued with her announcement to the Class AA all-state volleyball team, as selected by the South Dakota Volleyball Coaches Association.

Brewster was joined on the first team by three seniors - Rapid City Stevens senior Elizabeth Schaefer, Sioux Falls Washington senior outside hitter Lily Bartling, and Brookings senior setter Michaela Jewett - and three juniors, with Sioux Falls O'Gorman outside hitter Emma Ronsiek, Watertown middle hitter Sophie Tietz and Huron libero Havyn Heinz named to the squad.

Brewster, a 5-11 outside hitter, helped Mitchell back to the state tournament for the second straight year with an 18-9 record, and a fifth-place finish at state.

Brewster, who was also named The Daily Republic's player of the year, was the all-around leader for the Kernels. She had 338 kills, with a hitting percentage of .249 on the season and averaged 3.5 kills per set. Her season included 10 or more kills in 21 of Mitchell's 27 matches on the season, and three matches with 20 kills or more, including 24 in a three-set sweep against Harrisburg on Nov. 1. Her season-best for hitting percentage came in a four-set win over Roosevelt Nov. 16 at the state tournament, in which she hit .462 on 39 swings without an error.

"Chelsea dedicated herself to becoming a better volleyball player this season," Mitchell coach Deb Thill said. "She stepped up into the go to player role for us in a big way. She is so athletic she could play any position on the floor."

A second-team all-state pick as a junior, Brewster finished 2018 with 44 aces and 33 total blocks, along with 340 digs, including a season-best 21 in the final victory over Brookings on Nov. 17. She had 19 matches with 10 digs or more for the Kernels.

In four seasons as a Kernel, Brewster had 1,032 kills and a .258 hitting percentage, with 126 total blocks, 849 digs and 82 aces.

Brewster intends to play volleyball at Division II South Dakota School of Mines and Technology next fall. She was also an all-Eastern South Dakota Conference selection and is a finalist for Miss Volleyball in Class AA, which will be announced this weekend.

As for the rest of the team, Schaefer is a repeat selection on the first team. Bartling, Rossi and Ronsiek were second-team picks in 2017.

Here is a closer look at the first team selections:

Elizabeth Schaefer, Rapid City Stevens (Sr., OH): Schaefer was one of many options for the Raiders' state championship team on offense, but also had 27 blocks and 220 digs on defense. Offensively, she finished with 47 service aces and 242 kills.

Lily Bartling, Sioux Falls Washington (Sr., OH): Bartling was a big part of the Warrior offense that went to the state title game. She finished the season with 420 kills, 31 service aces and contributed on defense with 388 digs.

Emma Ronsiek, Sioux Falls O'Gorman (Jr., OH): Ronsiek turned into O'Gorman's big hitting option. She dominated the kills scene and finished with 494, along with 61 service aces and 290 digs.

Michaela Jewett, Brookings (Sr., Setter): The Bobcats found themselves in the state tournament in large part because of Jewett's contributions. She finished the season with a staggering 914 assists, 393 digs, 51 service assists and 173 kills.

Sophie Tietz, Watertown (Jr. MH): Tietz's defense was part of what led the Arrows to a third-place finish in the state tournament. She had 146 blocks and contributed 247 kills on offense.

Havyn Heinz, Huron (Jr., libero): Heinz led the state tournament in digs with 79 and finished the season with 685. She also finished the season with 41 service aces.

Class AA all-state teams

As selected by the South Dakota Volleyball Coaches Association

First team

Lily Bartling, Sioux Falls Washington, Sr., OH

Emma Ronsiek, Sioux Falls O'Gorman, Jr., OH

Michaela Jewett, Brookings, Sr., Setter

Elizabeth Schaefer, Rapid City Stevens, Sr., OH

Sophie Tietz, Watertown, Jr., MB

Chelsea Brewster, Mitchell, Sr. OH

Havyn Heinz, Huron, Jr. Libero

Second team

Phebie Rossi, Rapid City Stevens, Sr., MH

Phekran Kong, Sioux Falls Washington, Jr., MH

Hollee Niehus, Huron, Sr., H

Raegen Reilly, Sioux Falls O'Gorman, Soph. Setter

Cassidy Gough, Aberdeen Central, Sr., OH

Brooklyn Bollweg, Harrisburg, Sr. Libero

Leah Koltz, Sioux Falls Roosevelt, Sr. MH

Tatum Kooima, Sioux Falls Roosevelt, Jr., Libero