LAKE ANDES -- Burke won 10 events to sweep the boys and girls team championships at the Fort Randall Invitational Tuesday.

The Cougar girls racked up 127 points to secure the win. Second-place Kimball/White Lake had 98 points, while Andes Central/Dakota Christian was third with 86, Tripp-Delmont/Armour was fourth with 77 and Scotland was fifth with 66.

Burke eighth-grader Kailee Frank won three events, racing to a win in the 1,600 meters in 5 minutes, 23.08 seconds. She was also part of the winning 4x800 relay team with Hallie Person, Piper Hanson and Paige Bull that won in 10 minutes, 39.98 seconds and the sprint medley relay team with Addi Hood, Bridget Bartling and Brylie Pistulka that won in 4 minutes, 40.74 seconds.

Hanson was also a triple-winner, taking the 100-meter hurdles (16.89 seconds) and the 300 hurdles (51.04 seconds). Burke’s Elenna Koenig won the high jump with a leap of 4 feet, 11 inches)

TDA’s Hannah Whitney won four events, racing to wins in the 100-meter dash (13.53 seconds) and the 200 (28.21 seconds). She also joined Mykah Keller, Faith Goehring and Megan Reiner to win the 4x100 relay (54.46 seconds) and the 4x200 relay (1:53.75). Reiner won the 400 in 1 minute, 3.58 seconds.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

ACDC’s Isabella Brouwer won the 800 (2:25.86) and teammate Allison Muckey won the triple jump (31 feet, 5 inches). Meanwhile, Scotland’s Makayla Friedrich won the shot put (37 feet, 2 1/2 inches) and Delanie VanDriel won the discus (100 feet, 1 inch).

KWL’s Autumn Baker won the 3,200 (12:52.38) and Avon’s Courtney Sees won the long jump (15 feet, 5 inches).

The Corsica-Stickney 4x400 relay team of Kayla Fischer, Payton DeLange, Sutten Eide and Morgan Clites won in 4 minutes, 31.79 seconds.

The Burke boys breezed to a win by totaling 142 points. KWL was second with 76 points, while Colome and Bridgewater-Emery tied for third with 71 points. Corsica-Stickney was fifth with 57 points.

Burke’s Ben Witt won two individual events, taking the 800 (2:06.90) and high jump (5 feet, 6 inches). He also teamed with Taron Serr, Bryce Frank and Nick Nelson to win the 4x400 relay in 3 minutes, 40.50 seconds.

Serr also won the 110 hurdles (16.58 seconds) and Sawyer Tietgen won the triple jump with a leap of 39 feet 2, inches.

Colome’s Riley Shippy won the 100 (11.74 seconds) and 200 (23.90 seconds), while racing to a win in the 4x100 relay (47.49 seconds), along with Rhet Bertram, Hayden Thieman and Michael Supik. Colome’s Joseph Laprath won the 1,600 in 5 minutes, 0.74 seconds).

KWL’s Park Sinclair won the 3,200 (11:17.87), while the WiLdKat 4x800 relay team of Ky Becker, Porter Miller, Drew Ekstrum and Colton Michalik won in 9 minutes, 42.55 seconds.

Bridgewater-Emery’s Bodie Burnham, Sam Hofer, Brandon Jansen and Camden Dye won the 4x200 relay (1:38.78) and Burnham, Koby Kayser, Sutton Arend and Dye won the sprint medley (3:57.46).

Scotland’s Jordan Gall won the shot put (45 feet, 2 1/2 inches) and discus (145 feet, 5 inches), while Corsica-Stickney’s Cole Feenstra won the 300 hurdles (44.48 seconds).

Engelland leads MVP girls to SESD title

CHAMBERLAIN -- Berkeley Engelland won three individual events to lead Mount Vernon/Plankinton to a girls team championship at the Southeastern South Dakota Conference meet Tuesday.

The Titans racked up 139 points, topping second-place Ethan/Parkston’s 108. Winner was third with 81, while Chamberlain was fourth with 71 and Bon Homme was fifth with 60.

Engelland, a freshman, won the 100-meter dash (13.24 seconds), 400-meter dash (1 minute, 0.34 seconds) and 800 meters (2 minutes, 21.35 seconds) for MVP.

Ethan Parkston’s Allison Ziebart won the 200 (27.46 seconds) and triple jump (36 feet, 9 inches), while Emma Yost won the discus (108 feet, 2 inches).

Kinsey Evans won three events for Chamberlain, including the 1,600 (5:30.71) and 3,200 (11:56.48). She also joined Kylah Biggins, Aine Graesser and Allison Hough to win the 4x800 relay in 10 minutes, 15.44 seconds. Chamberlain’s Jenna Johnson also won the shot put (35 feet, 3/4 inches).

Wagner’s Elizabeth Woods won the 100 hurdles (16.60 seconds) and 300 hurdles (49.62 seconds), while teaming with Abby Brunsing, Brooke Knoll and Shalayne Nagel to win the 4x100 relay in 52.99 seconds. Ashlyn Koupal won the high jump with a leap of 4 feet, 10 inches.

The Platte-Geddes 4x200 relay team of Carly Reiser, Kally Millar, Regan Hoffman and Briana DeGroot won in 1 minute, 55.13 seconds, while Kiana Major won the pole vault (7 feet, 9 inches).

The Winner 4x400 relay team of Kelsey Sachtjen, Keelie Kuil, Kylie Sachtjen and Kalla Bertram won in 4 minutes, 27.31 seconds. Meanwhile the Gregory sprint medley relay Ashton Eklund, Jessy Jo VanDerWerff, Asia VanDerWerff and Sierra Rencountre won in 4 minutes, 49.04 seconds.

Bon Homme’s Jenna Duffek won the long jump (16 feet).

On the boys side, Ethan/Parkston compiled 127.5 points to take the team title. Winner was second with 97 points and Platte-Geddes was third with 93.5 points. Chamberlain finished fourth with 79 points and Wagner was fifth with 75.

Ethan/Parkston’s Cole Prunty won the 300 hurdles (41.05 seconds) and 200-meter dash (22.97 seconds), while the 4x800 relay team of Jaron Nesheim, Riley Endres, Gage Hohn and Ethan Poore won in 9 minutes, 01.83 seconds.

Winner’s Kade Watson won the 1,600 (4:35.14), while Preston Norrid won the discus (145 feet, 5 inches). Adam Bohnet, Aiden Barfuss, Michael Olson and Joey Cole won the 4x200 relay for the Warriors in 1 minute, 35.33 seconds.

Chamberlain’s Drayton Priebe won the 110 hurdles (15.71 seconds) and long jump (21 feet, 3/4 inches), Hayden Evans took the 400 (52.79 seconds), Dominic Santiago captured the 3,200 (10:31.71) and Jackson Soulek won the shot put (46 feet, 6 1/2 inches).

Wagner’s Jaden Peters won the pole vault (15 feet) and Malcolm Janis won the triple jump (41 feet, 9 1/4 inches). The Red Raider 4x100 relay team of Janis, Matt Link, Toby Zephier and Chris Nelson won in 45.73 seconds, while the 4x400 relay team of Zephier, Simon Feier, Henry Hayward and Lael Young won in 3 minutes, 40.09 seconds.

Kade Stukel won the 100 (11.66 seconds) and helped the Gregory sprint medley relay team of Carson Klundt, Reece Odenbach and Luke Sinclair score a win in 3 minutes, 54.64 seconds.

MVP’s Reed Rus won the high jump with a leap of 5 feet, 10 inches.

SCW takes a share of 281 Conference boys title

MILLER -- Sanborn Central/Woonsocket won three field events to take home a shore of the 281 Conference boys track and field championship Tuesday.

The Blackhawks finished in a tie with Hitchcock-Tulare, with both notching 125 points apiece. Wessington Springs scored 117 points to place third, while Wolsey-Wessington was fourth with 113 points and Highmore-Harrold was fifth with 89 points.

SCW’s Jeff Boschee won the high jump with a leap of 5 feet, 6 inches, while Cody Slykhuis captured the triple jump (36 feet, 5 1/2 inches) and Toby Keen took the discus (126 feet, 8 inches)

Wessington Springs’ Dylan Schimke was a quadruple winner, taking the 400-meter dash (52.9 seconds) and the 800 meters (2 minutes, 13 seconds). He also joined Blake Larson, Mason Schelske and Carter Grohs to win the 4x400 relay in 3 minutes, 41.3 seconds. Schimke, Larson, Grohs and A.J. Neely also won the 4x800 relay in 9 minutes, 6 seconds.

Sam Poncelow also won the 1,600 (5 minutes, 1 second) for the Spartans.

SCW also finished second in the girls standings, accumulating 142 points. Wolsey-Wessington ran away with the title, taking in 205 points. James Valley Christian was third (110 points), Highmore-Harrold was fourth (82) and Iroquois-Doland was fifth (45).

SCW seventh-grader Elizabeth Boschee won three events, racing to wins in the 400 (1:04) and 800 (2:34), while also winning the 4x400 relay with Kamryn Ochsner, Kennadie Ochsner and Trinity Boschee in 4 minutes, 29.9 seconds. Trinity Boschee won the long jump (14 feet, 5 inches).