State notebook: MVP's Deinert wins Spirit of Su

Mount Vernon/Plankinton's Tate Deinert led the local contingent of award-winners at the state basketball tournaments this weekend. Deinert, a senior for the Titans, was awarded the Spirit of Su award at the Class A state tournament in Rapid City....

Mount Vernon/Plankinton's Tate Deinert led the local contingent of award-winners at the state basketball tournaments this weekend.

Deinert, a senior for the Titans, was awarded the Spirit of Su award at the Class A state tournament in Rapid City. The award annually goes to a senior in the state tournament who exemplifies the spirit of prep basketball standout SuAnne Big Crow, a Pine Ridge student who was killed in a car accident in 1992.

Deinert - who finished his career with 994 points - was awarded for his basketball, academic and community service accomplishments. Deinert led his team in almost every statistical category in the tournament, scoring 19 points a game, five rebounds per game, three assists and two steals per game.

Deinert was also named to the all-tournament team in Class A, along with Chamberlain's Seth Friesz and Winner's Devon Leiferman. Friesz was the tournament's leading scorer, posting 22.3 points per game in the three-game tournament and Leiferman averaged 17 points and 10 rebounds per game, a mark that was tied for the best mark at the tournament.

The Chamberlain cheerleading team was awarded the Class A Spirit of Six award at the tournament. The team includes Jacelyn Medicine Crow, Irene Grassrope, Danielle Arpan, JJ Martin, Morgan Hansen, Taylor Sharping and Gabe Haukaas. Jane Medicine Crow is the team's coach.


At the Class B tournament, Clayton Menning was picked to the all-tournament team for Corsica-Stickney. Menning shot 53 percent on 18-of-34 shooting and scored 14 points per game in the tournament. He also led the team in assists, with 11 on the way to a fifth-place finish in Aberdeen.

The complete list of tournament honors is below:

• Class A Boys - Tate Deinert, Mount Vernon/Plankinton; Gus Reede, Aberdeen Roncalli; Devon Leiferman, Winner; Tayt Vincent, Sioux Valley; Seth Friesz, Chamberlain; Robert Rosenquist and John Prochello, Dakota Valley; P.J. Freidel and Jake Satter, St. Thomas More; Lincoln Unruh, Chad Barkema and DeJay Fykstra, Sioux Falls Christian. Spirit of Su: Tate Deinert, Mount Vernon/Plankinton. Spirit of Six: Chamberlain.

• Class B Boys - Michael Rogers, Tyler Rozell and Ethan Westby, Warner; Gabe King and Tate Gale, Irene-Wakonda; Tanner Storer and Rease Logan, Potter County; Jesse Kreutzfeldt, Chester Area; Clayton Menning, Corsica-Stickney; Justice Morrison, White River; Matt Larson, De Smet and Clayton Koch, Harding County. Spirit of Su: Gabe King, Irene-Wakonda. Spirit of Six: Warner.

• Class AA Girls - Paiton Burckhard, Brianna Kusler and Karli Gardner, Aberdeen Central; Anna Goodhope and Sydney Arrington, SF Washington; Ashlee Beacom and Katie Messler, SF O'Gorman; Sami Slaughter and Bailey Pickering, Harrisburg; Hanna VanDerWerff, RC Stevens; Abigail Johnson, RCC Central and Jamie Spicer, SF Roosevelt. Spirt of Su: Brianna Kusler, Aberdeen Central. Spirit of Six: Rapid City Central.

• Class AA Boys - Tommy Jensen, Nolan Burchill and Carson Coulter, SF Lincoln; Sam Siganos and Logan Uttecht, SF Washington; Andrew Martian and Mason Archambault, RC Stevens; Erin Severyn, Pierre; JP Costello, SF O'Gorman; Tristan Teichmeier, SF Roosevelt; Anthony Bachmeier, Aberdeen Central and Kailleb Walton-Blanden, RC Central. Spirit of Su: Sam Siganos, SF Washington. Spirit of Six: Sioux Falls Lincoln.

Cutler added to coaches' association Hall of Shrine

Frank Cutler, of Platte, joined the South Dakota High School Basketball Coaches Association's Hall of Shrine over the weekend.


Cutler has been the boys basketball coach for the Black Panthers for 27 years and has taken teams to the state tournament 11 times, including 10 times in Class A. Cutler's 2008 team won the Class A championship and Platte-Geddes finished as runner-up in 2009 and 2014 in Class B.

Cutler, a native of Claremont and a graduate from Langford High School and South Dakota State University, has taught and coached for 33 years in all. In 27 years of coaching, Cutler has a record of 411-194. He has also coached junior-high football, boys and girls golf and is currently Platte-Geddes' athletic director.

He is joined in the class being inducted into the hall of shrine by Winner's James Drake, who was honored in Rapid City. Also inducted are former Yankton and Rapid City Stevens coach Ron Riherd, broadcaster Mike Henriksen and official Mary Kapitan Orth.

Tyndall's Mudder receives active officials award

Mike Mudder, of Tyndall, received the National Federation Officials Association's Active Officials Award over the weekend.

Mudder, a native of Avon, has officiated high school football and basketball and also has officiated college sports, as well. Some of his career highlights include officiating seven Class AA boys basketball championship games and five high school football championship games. He also officiated the 2006 Division II football national championship game as part of his North Central Conference crew.

Fittingly, Mudder was among the officials working the Class AA boys tournament this weekend in Sioux Falls and Mudder worked the championship game between Lincoln and Washington on Saturday.

What To Read Next
Prep basketball action from around the state from Friday, Feb. 3.
The Mitchell girls basketball offense erupted for 22 second-quarter points in a road win over Sturgis on Friday.
Members Only
Mitchell wrestles in its home regular-season finale on Friday night.
Region wrestling recaps from Friday night