South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame to add 23 for 2023

Latest class is an all-time record for one-year inductees

SD Sports HOF_web.jpg
South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame
Courtesy photo

SIOUX FALLS — A rodeo trick rider, several amazing coaches and many incredible athletes will be part of a record 23 inductees into the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame for this year.

They will all be honored at an induction banquet Sunday, Sept. 24, in Sioux Falls.

This year's class includes eight people going in under the "Legends" category. Those are people who are deceased that may have been overlooked in the past when only 3 inductees per year were honored.

Nearly 400 people have been nominated, and the Hall of Fame now will have 356 members.

Here is the list of inductees and a brief description of their career.


  • Scott Bosanko, Aberdeen: Northern State basketball star drafted in the NBA
  • Linda Collignon, Madison: Established the dominant Madison High School gymnastics program
  • Marlyn Goldhammer, Wagner: Long time director of the SDHSAA
  • Chuck Iverson, Vermillion: All-time great basketball player at University of South Dakota
  • Clarence Kooistra, Salem: 221 football wins at Garretson in a 31 year coaching career
  • Don Larson, Madison: record setting track coach at North Dakota State University
  • Jerry Miller, White Lake: Longtime coach and among the foremost states sports historians
  • Dave Mydland, Sioux Falls: Responsible for South Dakota competing in Senior Baseball
  • Terry Nielsen, Sioux Falls: Put in thousands of hours for state Tennis Association, Howard Wood track, more.
  • Mark Ovenden, Sioux Falls: Over 45 years as radio and television broadcaster in Sioux Falls
  • Jim Schlekeway, Britton: Outstanding basketball player and coach at many levels
  • Bryan Schwartz, Miller: All-around athlete who spent several years in the NFL
  • Brad Seely, Baltic: Longtime assistant coach in the NFL
  • Dawn Seiler, McLaughlin: All-time winningest girls basketball coach in state history, most notably at Aberdeen Central
  • Jeff Turning Heart, Cheyenne-Eagle Butte: One of the best distance runners ever, including as a national high school All-American in 1980

They are joined by the folks going in under the Legends category.

  • Don Baker, Scotland: Coached multiple sports at the college level
  • Gene Breemes, Phillip: Established Rapid City Stevens as a track and cross country power
  • Harvey Hammrich, Ipswich: 41 years as a coach of multiple sports and athletic director
  • Lien Marso, Harrold: Outstanding athlete in high school and at South Dakota State
  • Dean Minder, Wilmot: Sportswriter, baseball coach and umpire in Mitchell
  • Mattie Goff Newcombe, White Owl: World champion female rodeo trick rider in the 1920's
  • Mike Roach, Rapid City Cathedral: 42-year football coach at multiple levels
  • Joe Thorne, Beresford: SDSU athlete who traded pro career for military service

The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame was started in 1968 by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association. The Hall of Fame is now run by a committee of over 30 volunteers from across the state. Ticket information for the banquet will be announced later.
For more information on the inductees, contact Mike Henriksen, 605-595-8487, John Papendick, 605-290-9677, or Executive Director Jim Dorman, 605-940-1262.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Mitchell Republic." Often, the "Mitchell Republic" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local