We see that you have javascript disabled. Please enable javascript and refresh the page to continue reading local news. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact the customer support team at 1-833-248-7801.



South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame banquet tickets on sale for Sept. 25 ceremony

Fifteen new members will be inducted, and the event is open to the public.

SD Sports HOF_web.jpg
South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame
Courtesy photo
We are part of The Trust Project.

SIOUX FALLS — Tickets for the annual Induction Banquet for the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame are now on sale.

The banquet is scheduled for Sunday, Sept. 25, 2022, at 5 p.m. at the Convention Center in Sioux Falls.

Fifteen new members will be inducted, and the event is open to the public. Advance tickets are $45 for adults and $25 for students 12 and under. There is a $10 increase in those prices if purchased at the door. To purchase your advance tickets, go to the association website and click on PURCHASE TICKETS. All major credit cards are accepted. If you have problems with ticketing call Jim Dorman at 605-940-1262.

The inductees being honored this year are Janel Birrenkott, Bryan Brewer, Jill Christensen, Doug Clark, Kath Courtney, Gary Evjen, Gene Johnson, Dave Krauth, Megan Mahoney, Bill Matthews, Alan Miller, Tom Rudebusch, Jeff Schemmel, Paul Tierney, and Vince Whipple.

With these 15 inductees, the hall will have enshrined 336 women and men from every sport and corner of the state. The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1968 by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association. It is now managed by a group of volunteers from across that state.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Mitchell Republic." Often, the "Mitchell Republic" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
Winner Area edged out Chamberlain by two strokes to win the Region 3A boys golf title on Monday at Lakeview Golf Course in Mitchell.
A look at the 2022 prep football rankings entering the final week of September
Sioux Falls Washington becomes the new No. 1 team in Class AA volleyball this week.
The No. 1 Bison overcame three turnovers and a seven-point halftime deficit, sending the Coyotes tumbling to 1-3 in the process.