South Dakota, Nebraska teams set for All-Nations Football Conference semifinals

Lower Brule, Tiospa Zina among teams vying for All-Nations Football Conference title

All-Nations Logo

Mitchell’s Joe Quintal Field will host a pair of All-Nations Football Conference semifinal contests today. The championship game is set for 7 p.m. on Thursday, May 27 at Joe Quintal Field.

Today, No. 1 Tiospa Zina (5-0) plays No. 4 Omaha Nation (2-3) at 4 p.m., while No. 2 Winnebago (4-1) plays No. 3 Lower Brule (3-2) at 7 p.m. The games will be broadcast at

Tiospa Zina blanked Omaha Nation, 44-0, in the opening week’s games on April 9. Tiospa Zina, which is located in Agency Village in northeast South Dakota, has outscored its opponents by a 218-38 margin this season. The Wambdi’s closest contest was a 30-20 win over Winnebago on May 7.

Joe Quintal Field to host All-Nations Football Conference semifinals, finals “We just thought it was a nice, central location and a nice facility,” Lower Brule Superintendent Lance Witte said.

Omaha Nation, located in Macy, Nebraska, was edged by Winnebago (22-14) in regular season finale on May 14. The Chiefs are led offensively by Dallas Mitchell, who has 286 rushing yards and four touchdown passes. David Romo has passed for 213 yards and four touchdown passes.


Winnebago, located on the Winnebago Reservation in 26 miles southeast of Sioux City, Iowa and 70 miles north of Omaha, Nebraska, started the season with three straight wins. The Indians knocked off Cheyenne-Eagle Butte (52-0), Lower Brule (20-6) and Marty Indian (30-6).

Lower Brule, which is located 100 miles west of Mitchell, has racked up the points through the five-game season. Lower Brule has picked up wins over Marty Indian (34-14), Omaha Nation (74-68) and McLaughlin (64-14). It has been defeated by the league’s top-two teams Winnebago (20-6) and Tiospa Zina (56-6).

The All-Nations Football Conference debuted in 2019, with Crow Creek winning the inaugural championship over Lower Brule at the DakotaDome in Vermillion.

After the 2020 fall season was canceled due to the pandemic, Lower Brule, Cheyenne-Eagle Butte, Marty, McLaughlin, Tiospa Zina, Omaha Nation (Neb.) and Winnebago (Neb.) opted to play this spring.

In the fall, the league will continue with its regular season. In addition to the seven schools playing this spring, Red Cloud, Oelrichs, Takini, Little Wound, Crazy Horse, Crow Creek, St. Francis, Marty, Pine Ridge, Todd County and Standing Rock (N.D.) will round out the 18-team league.

The teams will be split into two nine-man classes: 9A and 9B. They will play an eight-game schedule before the playoffs. The classes will be determined by average daily membership (ADM) and they will be on a two-year scheduling cycle, similar to the South Dakota High School Activities Association.

The league will also return to Vermillion’s DakotaDome for its championship games on Nov. 6.

Related Topics: FOOTBALL
What To Read Next
The Red Raiders erased a 35-26 halftime deficit by opening the second half on a 17-4 run.
Members Only
DWU girls defeat Northwestern, 55-41 & DWU boys fall to Northwestern, 65-62.
“The thing that stuck out ... was defense,” coach Jason Christensen said. “To hold them to 22% shooting in that fourth quarter … you hold a Northwestern team to 41 points, that’s pretty remarkable.”
Jackrabbits add Western Oregon for home opener on Sept. 2