Selections announced for the South Dakota girls basketball all-state teams

Coaches make picks for honor teams in all three classes

Mount Vernon/Plankinton's Emilee Fox (4) grabs a rebound beyond the reach of Chamberlain's Jayna Handel (22) during a game on Friday, February 4, 2022 in Plankinton.
Mitchell Republic file photo
We are part of The Trust Project.

2021-22 South Dakota all-state girls basketball teams

Selected by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association

Sioux Falls Washington's Ndjakalenga Mwenentanda comes down with a rebound in front of Mitchell's Maddie Kempf during a February 2022 game at the Corn Palace.
Mitchell Republic file photo


First team

Ndjakalenga Mwenentanda, SF Washington, 6-2, sr., F (18 ppg., 8 rpg)

Hannah Ronsiek, SF O’Gorman, 5-10, sr., G (18.6 ppg, 5.5 rpg)


Hilary Behrens, Brandon Valley, 6-1, jr., F (16.4 ppg, 3.8 rpg)

Jayda McNabb, RC Stevens, 5-10, sr., G (12 ppg, 8 rpg, 5 apg)

Mahli Abdouch, SF O’Gorman, 5-7, so., G (13.1 ppg, 5.4 apg)

Josie Hill, RC Central, 6-2, sr., F (12.4 ppg, 9.2 rpg)

Second team

Emilee Boyer, Harrisburg, 6-1, sr., F (14 ppg, 9.4 rpg)

Cierra Watkins, SF Jefferson, 5-6, jr., G (11.8 ppg, 4.3 rpg)

Sawyer Stoebner, Mitchell, 5-9, so., G (15.9 ppg, 9.3 rpg, 3.4 apg)

Bella Shreeve, Huron, 5-5, sr., G (11.9 ppg, 3.4 apg)


Ainsley Shelsta, Brookings, 6-5, sr., F (15 ppg, 10.3 rpg)

Ellie Karolevitz, Yankton, 5-10, sr., G (15 ppg, 7.6 rpg)

Class AA player of the year — Ndjakalenga Mwenentanda, of Sioux Falls Washington.

Repeat selections — 2021 (Mwenentanda and Behrens, first team; Ronsiek, McNabb and Boyer, second team); 2020 (Mwenentanda and Ronsiek, second team).

Dakota Valley's Rylee Rosenquist celebrates a play against Corsica-Stickney on Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2021 during a game in the Parkston Classic at the Parkston Armory.
Mitchell Republic file photo


First team

Rylee Rosenquist, Dakota Valley, 5-8, sr., G (23 ppg, 10.1 rpg, 4.9 apg, 72 steals)

Kami Wadsworth, Hamlin, 5-10, jr., F (21.6 ppg, 6.1 rpg)


Emilee Fox, Mount Vernon/Plankinton, 5-8, so. G (19 ppg, 6 rpg, 4.5 apg, 70 steals)

Bella Swedlund, Winner, 5-8, sr., G (22.4 ppg, 8.1 rpg, 59 steals)

Reese Ross, St. Thomas More, 6-0, jr., F (18.3 ppg, 9.2 rpg)

Katie Vasecka, Tea Area, 6-2, so. G (19.1 ppg, 8.0 rpg, 42 blocks)

Second team

Rylee Haldeman, West Central, 5-3, sr., G (16.8 ppg, 3.5 apg, 61 steals)

Emma Yost, Wagner, 5-11, jr., F (14.2 ppg, 9.3 rpg, 3.2 apg)

Claire Sheppard, Flandreau, 6-1, so., G-F (15.6 ppg, 3.6 rpg, 64 steals)

Olivia Kieffer, RC Christian, 5-11, jr., G (20.6 ppg, 8 rpg, 63 steals)

Stevi Fallis, Red Cloud, 5-5, sr., G (15.6 ppg, 3.7 rpg, 4 apg)

Caylin Kelly, Florence-Henry, 5-11, so., F-C (17 ppg, 10.5 rpg, 4.1 apg, 86 steals, 40 blocks)

Third team

Kylah vanDonkersgoed, SF Christian, 6-2, sr., C-F (13.9 ppg, 6.6 rpg)

Tobi Carlow, Lakota Tech, 5-7, sr., G (15.3 ppg, 3.2 apg, 64 steals)

Mya Knippling, Chamberlain, 6-1, sr., C (18.7 ppg, 10.2 rpg, 59 blocks)

Addy Kramer, West Central, 5-9, sr., G (14.4 ppg, 7 rpg)

Allison Richards, Red Cloud, 5-6, sr., G (14.3 ppg, 6.2 rpg, 4.8 apg, 59 steals)

Bailey White Hat, Todd County, 5-11, jr., F-C (18.5 ppg, 8.8 rpg)

Class A player of the year — Rylee Rosenquist, of Dakota Valley.

Repeat selections — 2021 (Swedlund, Rosenquist and Fox, first team; Vasecka, Wadsworth and Kieffer, second team; Sheppard and Yost, third team); 2020 (Fox, second team; and Rosenquist, third team).

Ethan's Hannah Bartscher (20) dribbles to the basket as Tripp-Delmont/Armour's Megan Reiner (34) defends during a game on Thursday, February 17, 2022 at the Corn Palace.
Mitchell Republic file photo


First team

Kennadi Buchholz, De Smet, 6-0, sr., C (20.4 ppg, 13.3 rpg, 66 blocks)

Maleighya Estes, White River, 5-7, sr., G (27 ppg, 7 rpg, 3.2 spg)

Avery Broughton, Corsica-Stickney, 5-11, jr., G-F (19 ppg, 10.1 rpg, 4.7 apg, 59 steals)

Madelyn Bragg, Aberdeen Roncalli, 6-2, sr., C-F (15.5 ppg, 8.1 rpg)

Coral Mason, Viborg-Hurley, 5-10, jr., G-F (15.6 ppg, 7.9 rpg, 3.5 apg, 57 steals)

Hannah Bartscher, Ethan, 5-9, sr., G (20.2 ppg, 6.5 rpg)

Second team

Mallory Miller, Aberdeen Christian, 6-4, jr., C (19.5 ppg, 13.2 rpg, 68 blocks)

Mackenzie Hemmer, Colman-Egan, 5-10, sr., G-F (20.7 ppg, 9.5 rpg, 53 steals)

Julia Weber, Bridgewater-Emery, 5-8, sr., G (167 ppg, 5.7 rpg, 51 steals)

Morgan Fiedler, Aberdeen Roncalli, 5-8, sr, G (12.3 ppg, 4 rpg)

Rachel Gerlach, Corsica-Stickney, 5-10, sr., G-F (14 ppg, 5.3 rpg)

Denae Mach, Viborg-Hurley, 5-9, jr., G-F (13.8 ppg, 5 rpg)

Third team

Kaycee Groves, Faith, 5-10, sr., G (7 ppg, 2.8 rpg)

Maddie Horn, Castlewood, 5-11, jr., G-F (18.6 ppg, 8 rpg)

Isabel Aesoph, Faulkton Area, 5-7, sr., G (18.7 ppg, 5 rpg, 56 steals)

Kendell Sawinsky, Herreid-Selby Area, 5-8, sr., G (17.5 ppg, 5.4 rpg, 88 steals)

Molly Larson, Gayville-Volin, 5-7, sr., G (20.1 ppg, 4.4 rpg, 3.2 apg)

Jessy Jo VanDerWerff, Gregory, 5-7, jr., G-F (17.6 ppg, 3.6 apg)

Class B player of the year — Kennadi Buchholz, of De Smet.

Repeat selections — 2021 (Broughton, first team; Estes and Bartscher, second team; and Buchholz, third team. Bragg made the Class A second team); 2020 (Broughton, first team; Buchholz, third team); and 2019 (Broughton, second team).

Corsica-Stickney's Rachel Gerlach races Faith's Cassidy Schuelke to the basket after a steal during the first half of the girls Class B third-place game on Saturday, March 12, 2022 at the Watertown Civic Arena.
Branden Hull / Mitchell Republic

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Mitchell Republic." Often, the "Mitchell Republic" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
Post 18 earned back-to-back wins on the road against Yankton Friday night at Riverside Park.
National races help bring Scotland area race track into the spotlight
A recap of amateur baseball around the Mitchell area on Thursday night.
Chester Area’s Julie Eppard becomes the first female to be selected by the South Dakota Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association as the Athletic Director of the Year. She also became the first female athletic director in South Dakota to receive the NIAAA State Award of Merit.