Rosters announced for South Dakota Coaches all-star basketball games

The event will be held at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls starting at 7 p.m., April 15.

basketball general.jpg
(Republic file photo)

SIOUX FALLS — Many of the top senior boys and girls basketball talents from across the state will descend on the Pentagon in Sioux Falls for a pair of all-star contests sponsored by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association on April 15.

The event tips off with the girls all-star game at 7 p.m., with the boys to follow at 8:30 p.m. At halftime of each game, the player of the year awards for the 2021-22 season will be presented.

The rosters, as selected by the SDBBCA, include (listed in alphabetical order by last name):

White Team
Head coach: Brendan Sheppard, Flandreau
Assistant coach: Jeff Heisinger, McCook Central/Montrose

Players: David Alpers, O’Gorman; Kalen Garry, De Smet; Cade Kandolin, St. Thomas More; Grant Luikens, Potter County; Tash Lunday, Flandreau; Cael Lundin, Tea Area; Dylan Marshall, White River; Hayden Ruesink, Sioux Valley; Mason Schelske, Wessington Springs; Grafton Stroup, West Central.


Blue Team
Head coach: Jeff Gruenhagen, De Smet
Assistant coach: Steve Erickson, Elkton-Lake Benton

Players: Caden Foxley, Platte-Geddes; Caden Hinker, Mitchell; Micah Johnson, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Mikele Kambalo, Sioux Falls Washington; Nathan Koole, Sioux Falls Christian; Cooper Logan, Potter County; Drew Norberg, Watertown; Rett Osthus, De Smet; Sam Rohlfs, Aberdeen Central; Keshaume Thigh, Lower Brule.

White Team
Head coach: John Hess, Wall
Assistant coach: Wade Ginsbach, Hill City

Players: Emilee Boyer, Harrisburg; Kennadi Buchholz, De Smet; Maleighya Estes, White River; Stevi Fallis, Red Cloud; Morgan Fiedler, Aberdeen Roncalli; Kaycee Groves, Faith; Josie Hill, Rapid City Central; Mya Knippling, Chamberlain; Addy Kramer, West Central; Jayda McNabb, Rapid City Stevens.

Blue Team
Head coach: Tammy Lilly, Dakota Valley
Assistant coach: Molly Mason, Viborg-Hurley

Players: Hannah Bartscher, Ethan; Madelyn Bragg, Aberdeen Roncalli; Rachel Gerlach, Corsica-Stickney; Rylee Haldeman, West Central; Mackenzie Hemmer, Colman-Egan; Ellie Karolevitz, Yankton; Rylee Rosenquist, Dakota Valley; Ainsley Shelsta, Brookings; Bella Swedlund, Winner; Kylah vanDonkersgoed, Sioux Falls Christian.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Mitchell Republic." Often, the "Mitchell Republic" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local