Hanson’s Ethan Cheeseman honored as Cornbelt boys basketball MVP

Cheeseman headlines area all-conference basketball selections

Hanson's Ethan Cheeseman tries dribbling to the lane as Potter County's Colin Arbach defends during a game on Saturday, January 22, 2022 in the Hanson Classic at the Corn Palace.
Republic file photo
We are part of The Trust Project.

ALEXANDRIA, S.D. — Hanson’s junior forward Ethan Cheeseman was named Most Valuable Player on the Cornbelt Conference’s boys basketball all-conference first team. He’s joined by Bridgewater-Emery’s Sutton Arend, Canistota’s Isiah Robertson, Howard’s Jace Sifore and Viborg-Hurley’s Hayden Gilbert on the first team.

The Cornbelt Conference’s second team is composed of Canistota’s Tage Ortman, Hanson’s Luke Haiar, Howard’s Kolt Koepsell, Irene-Wakonda’s Miles Pollman and Viborg-Hurley’s Blake Schroedermeier.

A freshman was named to the all-conference third team in Howard’s Luke Koepsell, joined by Bridgewater-Emery’s Sam Hofer, Canistota’s Tye Merrill, Hanson’s Noah Price and Irene-Wakonda’s Connor Libby.

281 Conference

Wessington Springs boys basketball (Mason Schelske)
Wessington Springs' Mason Schelske (14) looks to pass from the post while defended by Wolsey-Wessington's Payson Gohn (42) and Carson Zomer (23) during the first half of the 281 Conference boys championship game on Jan. 20, 2022, at the Huron Arena.
Landon Dierks / Mitchell Republic

Wessington Springs’ senior Mason Schelske was named to the 281 Conference boys basketball first team, where he was joined by Payson Gohn and Carson Zomer, both of Wolsey-Wessington, along with Landon Wager and Landon Wallman, both of James Valley Christian.

A fellow Wessington Springs senior, Cade Mohling, was named to the all-conference second-team, as was Sanborn Central/Woonsocket senior Tryce Slykhuis. A third Spartan — sophomore Blake Larson — made the all-conference third-team, while SCW sophomore Jeff Boschee was an honorable mention selection.


On the girls' side, Sanborn Central/Woonsocket’s Trista White, a senior, was named first-team all-281 Conference, and was joined by a pair of Wolsey-Wessington juniors in Leah Williams and Mya Boomsma, Highmore-Harrold’s Letha Jessen and James Valley Christian’s Karilyn Wieting.

Another Blackhawk — eighth-grader Liz Boschee — earned second-team all-conference honors, as did Wessington Springs sophomore Avery Orth. SCW senior Trinity Boschee was third-team all-281, while fellow senior and teammate Brooke Doering and Wessington Springs junior Kirstie Munsen were honorable mention selections.

Big Dakota Conference girls

Winner girls basketball player Bella Swedlund
Winner's Bella Swedlund (23) shoots a jump shot over the outstretched arm of Mount Vernon/Plankinton's Emilee Fox (4) during a girls basketball game on Jan. 28, 2022, in Plankinton.
Landon Dierks / Mitchell Republic

The Winner Warriors and Chamberlain Cubs each landed a pair of players on the all-Big Dakota Conference girls basketball team.

For Winner, seniors Bella Swedlund and Kelsey Sachtjen earned all-conference honors alongside Chamberlain senior Mya Knippling and sophomore Kinsey Evans. A third Warrior senior, Ellie Brozik, was an honorable mention selection.

South Central Conference girls

020122 PG Chamberlain GBB VanDerWerff Kinsey Evans.JPG
Platte-Geddes' Karly VanDerWerff dribbles the ball up the court as Chamberlain's Kinsey Evans defends during a girls high school basketball game on Tuesday, Feb. 1, 2022 in Platte.
Marcus Traxler / Mitchell Republic

Platte-Geddes’ Karly VanDerWerff topped the list of 12 players named to the South Central Conference’s all-conference girls basketball team. She’s joined by her teammates Regan Hoffman and Cadence Van Zee, as well as Josie Brouwer, Allison Muckey and Lexie Vander Pol of Andes Central/Dakota Christian. Gregory’s Cassidy Keiser, Brooklyn Kenzy and Jesse VanDerWerff were also named to the all-conference team, alongside Burke’s Adisyn Indahl and Kimball/White Lake’s Kate Havlik and Ryann Nielsen.

Honorable mentions include Andes Central/Dakota Christian’s Isabella Brouwer, Burke’s Paige Bull and Elly Witt, Kimball-White Lake’s Harley Namanny and Platte-Geddes’ Baleigh Nachtigal.

What to read next
Two events, two wins for Mitchell High School gymnastics in the season's first week of competition.
Meets in Kimball, Dell Rapids, Fort Pierre, Flandreau and O'Neill, Neb. had area teams in action on Saturday.
Jagger Tyler, Danny Borja and Frankie Kranz each finished their days undefeated at the Watertown Civic Arena.
No. 1 SDSU will host No. 8 Holy Cross in the quarterfinals in a rematch of a spring 2021 playoff tilt.