Hannah Bartscher, Avery Broughton lead area's Class B girls first-team all-state selections

Hannah Bartscher of Ethan High School joined Kennadi Buchholz (De Smet), Maleighya Estes (White River), Avery Broughton (Corsica-Stickney), Madelyn Bragg (Aberdeen Roncalli) and Coral Mason (Viborg-Hurley) on the first-team roster

Ethan's Hannah Bartscher (20) drives around Mount Vernon/Plankinton's Christa Glanzer (11) during the second half of a DWU Classic girls basketball contest on Friday, Feb. 11, 2022, at McCook Central High School, in Salem.
Landon Dierks / Mitchell Republic
We are part of The Trust Project.

MITCHELL — Six upperclassmen headlined the Class B girls basketball all-state first team when the rosters were announced on Friday, Mar. 25 by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association.

Local products Hannah Bartscher (Ethan) and Avery Broughton (Corsica-Stickney) joined Kennadi Buchholz (De Smet), Maleighya Estes (White River), Madelyn Bragg (Aberdeen Roncalli) and Coral Mason (Viborg-Hurley) on the first-team roster.

Bartscher was a second-team selection in 2021, but this was the senior’s first first-team selection, making her the first Ethan girls player to get first-team honors since Karly Gustafson won Player of the Year in 2018-19 .

The Rustlers’ star averaged 20.2 points per game, 6 rebounds per game and 5 assists per game, leading Ethan to a 15-7 record.

De Smet senior Kennadi Buchholz was named the Class B girls player of the year. She jumped from a third-team selection in 2021 to the top player in 2022 after averaging 20.4 points and 13.3 rebounds per game and blocking 66 shots for the Bulldogs. She averaged 21.6 ppg in the state tournament as De Smet finished as the Class B runners-up.


Corsica-Stickney's Avery Broughton (34) shoots a jump shot over the contest of Gregory's Asia VanDerWerff (20) and Cassidy Keiser (11) during the first half of a Region 6B girls basketball semifinal contest on Saturday, Feb. 26, 2022, at the Corn Palace.
Landon Dierks / Mitchell Republic

Corsica-Stickney junior Avery Broughton makes her third-straight appearance on the Class B first-team list after winning the player of the year award as a freshman in 2020. The University of South Dakota commit averaged a double-double this season with 19 points and 10.1 rebounds per game, while racking up 59 steals and 55 blocks for the eventual third-place finishers.

Broughton already has four Class B all-state selections, being named to the second-team roster as an eighth-grader in 2019.

White River’s Maleighya Estes earned her second all-state selection and first first-team selection after leading Class B with 513 total points. In a game against St. Francis in February, Estes, a Dakota Wesleyan basketball pledge, scored her 2,000th career point, joining former teammate Caelyn Valandra-Prue as the only White River players in the 2,000-point club.

Aberdeen Roncalli’s Madelyn Bragg and Viborg-Hurley’s Coral Mason both received their first all-state honors, both being named to the first-team roster after successful seasons for their respective teams. Bragg averaged 15.5 points for Roncalli, while Mason averaged 15.6 points for the eventual Class B champions Viborg-Hurley.

Bridgewater-Emery's Julia Weber and Corsica-Stickney's Rachel Gerlach, both seniors, were selected to the second team on the Class B all-state list. Weber had 16.7 points and 5.7 rebounds per game, with 51 total steals as a 5-foot-8 guard for the Huskies. Gerlach, a 5-foot-10 guard/forward, had 14 points and 5.3 rebounds per contest. They are joined on the second team by Aberdeen Christian junior center Mallory Miller, Colman-Egan senior guard Mackenzie Hemmer, Aberdeen Roncalli senior guard Morgan Fiedler and Viborg-Hurley junior guard/forward Denae Mach.

On the third team, Gregory's Jessy Jo VanDerWerff received an all-state nod. The 5-foot-7 junior guard/forward had 17.6 points and 3.6 assists per game for the Gorillas. VanDerWerff and Castlewood junior guard/forward Maddie Horn were joined by four senior guards on the team, including Faith's Kaycee Groves, Faulkton Area's Isabel Aesoph, Herreid/Selby Area's Kendell Sawinsky and Gayville-Volin's Molly Larson.

Dylan is sports reporter for the Mitchell Republic. A native of Michigan, he graduated from Central Michigan University with a bachelors of science in journalism before joining the sports staff in March 2022. He covers 35 high schools along with NAIA's Dakota Wesleyan, which are all within Mitchell Republic's 17 county coverage area. Before joining the Mitchell Republic, Dylan covered sports in Michigan for a year, coached baseball for the Lakeland High School freshman team in White Lake, Mich. and played baseball and basketball in high school.
What to read next
No. 1 SDSU will host No. 8 Holy Cross in the quarterfinals in a rematch of a spring 2021 playoff tilt.
Members Only
The DWU women's team fall 70-74 to Hastings while the men's team comes out on top with a 84-68 win.
It wasn't perfect but the Mitchell High School wrestling team won't argue with the end result of its dual contest on Friday night.
The 2022-23 basketball season tipped off for a pair of area teams on Friday night.