Class AA girls, Class A boys sweep all-star basketball games at 35th annual Three-Class Shootout

Team MVP honorees for the winning sides were Brandon Valley's Hilary Behrens and Dakota Valley's Isaac Bruns.

Class A's Isaac Bruns, of Dakota Valley, shoots a jump shot over the contest of Class AA's Rugby Ryken, of Yankton, during a game at the 35th annual Three-Class Shootout on Saturday, March 25, 2023, at the McCook Central School, in Salem.
Landon Dierks / Mitchell Republic

SALEM, S.D. — The top seniors from all three classes of girls and boys South Dakota prep basketball converged for the 35th annual Three-Class Shootout at the McCook Central School on Saturday afternoon.

Here’s a roundup of all four contests from the all-star event.


Class AA 88, Class A 87

Tied through three quarters, the Class AA all-stars squeaked out a one-point win over their Class A counterparts to start the afternoon’s slate.

Class A led by as many as 13 points in the first quarter, the largest lead by either side in the contest, but Class AA’s largest advantage came in the fourth with an eight-point cushion. Overall, the lead changed hands 15 times and the score was tied on nine occasions.

Class AA was paced by Huron’s Isabella Ellwein, who scored 20 points, as Watertown’s Jaida Young added 13 points and seven steals. Sioux Falls Jefferson’s Cierra Watkins and Sioux Falls Washington’s Hannah Harpe each had 11 points, with Harpe grabbing six rebounds. Brooklyn Harpe, also of Washington, snagged a team-high nine rebounds.


For Class A, St. Thomas More’s Reese Ross put up 21 points, 12 rebounds, five assists, two steals and one blocked shot to earn team MVP honors. Hamlin’s Kami Wadsworth notched 18 points and Sioux Valley’s Landree Wilson chipped in 10.

Wagner’s Emma Yost contributed nine points, seven rebounds and four assists, as fellow Red Raider Shalayne Nagel had six points and eight rebounds.

Class AA's Hilary Behrens, of Brandon Valley, puts up a shot in the lane while driving around Class B's Ella Griffin, of Dell Rapids St. Mary, during a game at the 35th annual Three-Class Shootout on Saturday, March 25, 2023, at the McCook Central School, in Salem.
Landon Dierks / Mitchell Republic

Class AA 97, Class B 71

In the second contest, Class AA used a big fourth quarter to put away the Class B all-stars and complete a two-game sweep.

Down 11 at halftime, Class B clawed back to even with Class AA in the third quarter before being outscored 30-15 over the final 10 minutes.

For Class AA, Brandon Valley’s Hilary Behrens posted 23 points, six rebounds, four assists and seven steals and received team MVP for her efforts. Watkins and Pierre’s Remington Price scored 14 and 13 points, respectively, as Young, Rapid City Stevens’ Macey Wathen and Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Mariah Siem all chipped in 11 points. Brooklyn Harpe tied for the game-high with 12 rebounds and also contributed seven points, three assists and two steals.

Class B got 22 points and nine rebounds from Wolsey-Wesington’s Mallory Miller, the team's MVP selection, alongside 13 points and six rebounds from fellow Warbird Leah Williams. De Smet’s Jada Burke had 10 points and four rebounds, and Jones County’s Jadyn Jensen grabbed 12 rebounds, with four points and two steals.

Howard’s Kate Connor finished with nine points and eight rebounds.



Class A 111, Class AA 105

Tipping off the boys action, Class A and Class AA traded runs throughout the afternoon, with Class A putting together the final push to win and advance.

Class A had a one-point edge entering the fourth quarter, where it outscored Class AA 30-25. The game contained eight ties and five lead changes.

Dakota Valley’s Isaac Bruns poured in 32 points with eight rebounds and two steals, with fellow Panther Randy Rosenquist Jr. adding 19 points, three assists and two steals. St. Thomas More’s Caleb Hollenbeck tossed in 15 points, all on 3-pointers, while Madison’s Aiden Jensen chipped in eight points, 10 rebounds and two blocks.

Mount Vernon/Plankinton’s Reed Rus, Winner’s Blake Volmer and Hanson’s Ethan Cheeseman scored eight, seven and six points, respectively, for the Class A squad.

For Class AA, O’Gorman’s Matt Eng posted 26 points powered by eight 3s, as Sioux Falls Jefferson’s Taylen Ashley added 19 points. Pierre’s Jackson Edman and Jefferson’s Kaden Year both scored 10 points and grabbed seven and five rebounds, respectively. Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Elliot Whitney had eight points and team-highs with eight rebounds and five assists.

Mitchell’s duo of Steele Morgan and Dylan Soulek combined for nine points and 10 rebounds.

Of note, Year was named champion of the shootout’s dunk contest, defeating Edman and White River’s Joe Sayler in the finals.

Class A 129, Class B 111

Capping the shootout’s slate, Class A used a big first half to run away from Class B and record the two-game sweep.


Class A picked up where it left off in the first game, building a 68-49 lead by the midway point and ballooning the advantage to as large as 28 points in the third quarter.

Cheeseman led Class A in scoring, dropping in 29 points, as Sioux Valley’s Oliver Vincent was close behind with 25 points and seven rebounds. Bruns tacked on 19 points, seven rebounds and three assists, securing team MVP honors. Hollenbeck, Waubay/Summit’s Damon Opdahl and Sioux Falls Christian’s Ethan Bruns scored 13, 12 and 11 points, respectively.

Volmer contributed six points and three rebounds, and Rus did not play in Game 2.

White River’s Joe Sayler poured in an event-high 37 points behind nine 3-pointers, earning the team MVP award. Bridgewater-Emery’s Sutton Arend and the Aberdeen Christian pair of Malek Wieker and Ethan Russell all scored 12 points, as Arend also nabbed eight rebounds. De Smet’s Damon Wilkinson had 10 points, 13 rebounds and two steals.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Mitchell Republic." Often, the "Mitchell Republic" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local