Bon Homme gets two on Class B all-state baseball first-team

Amongst the area standouts selected to the all-state high school baseball team in Class B, Bon Homme’s Carter Uecker and Riley Rothschadl headline the group earning spots on the first-team


TYNDALL, S.D. — The 2022 Class B all-state baseball teams were announced Thursday morning, and a pair of Bon Homme players, Carter Uecker and Riley Rothschadl, were named to the Class B all-state first team.

Rothschadl led Bon Homme at the mound this season with 27 ⅓ innings pitched and five starts, resulting in a team-high 65 strikeouts while surrendering five earned runs. He also posted a batting average of .442 and an on-base percentage of .579. Rothschadl led the team in hits with 19, along with four home runs, six RBIs and eight stolen bases.

Uecker pitched 26 ⅔ innings, surrendering three runs and striking out 34 batters, on his way to a 4-0 record this season. In 14 games played, Uecker had the team’s third highest batting average of .340, posting 17 hits, 12 RBIs and seven stolen bases.

Winner/Colome’s Charley Pravecek and Joey Cole earned second-team all-state honors. Pravecek had a .511 batting average, a .600 on-base percentage and finished with 24 hits and 22 RBIs. Cole had 13 hits and nine RBIs while pitching 24 ⅓ innings, striking out 25 batters and surrendering seven earned runs on his way to a team-best 5-0 record.

Dakota Munger of Chamberlain/Kimball/White Lake earned second-team honors, as well, posting a batting average of .605 and an on-base percentage of .659. Munger had 23 hits, seven of which were doubles, along with 15 RBIs and 12 stolen bases. He also pitched 21 ⅓ innings, allowing 19 earned runs while striking out 37 batters.


Mount Vernon/Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney had two players, Griffin Tobin and Tyson Wentland, who landed on the second team as well. Wentland pitched 39 innings and while he allowed 13 runs, he also struck out a team-high 61 batters. Wentland had 13 hits and nine RBIs on the season as well while Tobin had 18 hits, along with RBIs and a team-high 18 stolen bases.

Wagner’s Nolan Dvorak was recognized on the Class B second-team behind his 16 hits, nine RBIs and nine stolen bases. On the mound, Dvorak had an ERA of 1.312 as allowed seven earned runs and pitched 48 strikeouts in 37 ⅓ innings.

Rylan Peck of Gregory County was awarded an all-state Class B second-team selection after posting a batting average of .535. He had 23 hits, five of which were triples, along with 14 RBIs and 17 stolen bases.

Platte-Geddes/Dakota Christian/White Lake’s Dawson Hoffman and Parkston/Tripp/Ethan’s Ty Neugebauer also earned Class B all-state second-team honors but their stats were not immediately available.

As for the remainder of the Class B all-state team, Madison’s Aspen Dahl, Redfield Area’s Camden Osborn, Peyton Osborn and Keaton Rohlfs, Dell Rapids’ Jack Henry and Landon Ruesink, Vermillion’s Jack Kratz and Jake Jensen, Dakota Valley’s Jake Pruchniak, Tea Area’s Nate Babb and Sioux Valley’s Parker Puetz all earned first-team honors.

Vermillion’s Charlie Ward, West Central’s Duece Sherard, Dell Rapids’ Dylan Mathis, Redfield Area’s Fehi Faonelua and Owen Osborn, Dakota Valley’s Isaac Bruns, Centerville’s Logan Bobzin and Tea Area’s Logan Boom were tabbed with second-team all-state selections.

Branden is a sports reporter that graduated from Purdue University Northwest with a bachelor's degree in communications and a focus in journalism. He joined the Mitchell Republic in June 2021 and covers prep and collegiate athletics. He was also the lead on the Mitchell Republic Full-Court Press, providing a weekly web-exclusive look at high school basketball throughout all of South Dakota. Branden can be reached at and found on Twitter at @bhullreports.
What To Read Next
Get Local