All-conference boys basketball roundup: Titans’ Rus, Stoltz land on all-SESD first team

Includes all-conference honors from the Southeast South Dakota, Little Missouri Valley, South Central, Great Plains, Cornbelt, 281 and Big Dakota conferences.

031623 MVP SFC Jordan Stoltz.JPG
Mount Vernon/Plankinton's Jordan Stoltz looks to pass the ball during the Class A state boys basketball tournament quarterfinals on Thursday, March 16, 2023 at the Premier Center in Sioux Falls.
Marcus Traxler / Mitchell Republic

MITCHELL — All-conference boys basketball teams were announced featuring players from multiple area schools.

Below is a listing of area selections:

Southeast South Dakota

Mount Vernon/Plankinton placed two seniors — guard Reed Rus and forward Jordan Stoltz — on the all-SESD first team.

Joining the pair of Titans were Winner senior guard Blake Volmer, Gregory junior forward Daniel Mitchell and Platte-Geddes senior guard Dawson Hoffman.

Winner had a pair of second-team representatives in junior guard Aiden Barfuss and sophomore center Shawn Hammerbeck alongside a trio of junior forwards in Chamberlain’s Dakota Munger, Parkston’s Will Jodozi and Platte-Geddes’ Tanner Dyk.


Rounding out the honors squads on the third team were a pair of senior guards in Wagner’s Chris Nelson and Bon Homme’s Riley Rothschadl, MVP junior guard Zach Baker and a pair of sophomores in Parkston’s James Deckert, a forward, and Gregory’s Cruz Klundt, a guard.

021723 Ethan TDA BBB TDA 5 and 1.JPG
Tripp-Delmont/Armour's Isaac Wunder dribbles with the ball along the baseline as Ethan's Riley Endres defends during a boys basketball game on Friday, Feb. 17, 2023 at the Corn Palace.
Marcus Traxler / Mitchell Republic

Little Missouri Valley

Tripp-Delmont/Armour and Wagner both had four selections to the all-LMVC honor team.

TDA put senior guard Jaden Groeneweg, junior guard Mason Reiner, and sophomores Isaac Wunder, a guard, and Riley Spaans, a forward, on the squad. Alongside Nelson for Wagner were fellow senior guards Matt Link and Ted Slaba and junior forward Carter Cournoyer.

Scotland and Bon Homme had three picks each. Seniors Stephen Johnson and Trenten Skorepa, both forwards, and guard Cole Friederich represented Scotland. Rothschadl was selected alongside junior guards Chapin Cooper and Landon Bares.

Completing the honor team were two players each from Avon and Andes Central/Dakota Christian. Avon had guards Landon Thury, a junior, and Jaden Stahl, a senior, chosen. ACDC had two sophomores picked in forward AJ Johnson and guard Ryder Niewenhuis.

South Central

Gregory, which topped the South Central Conference standings at 5-0, were represented by three honor team selections, as Mitchell and Klundt were joined by sophomore guard Noah Bearshield.

Platte-Geddes had four honorees, with Dyk and Hoffman alongside guards Hayden Sprik, a sophomore, and Joey Foxley, a junior.


Kimball/White Lake placed junior forward Blake Leiferman and senior guard Dawson Miller on the team.

Burke had junior guard Reed Benter and senior guard Nick Nelson chosen, and Colome had junior forward Joseph Laprath and senior guard Alec Thieman.

Honorable mention selections included Gregory’s Jack Bolander, KWL’s Jaxon Pursell and ACDC’s AJ Johnson and Ty Archambeau.

Great Plains

The TDA trio of Reiner, Wunder and Spaans was also selected to the Great Plains Conference honor team. Also placing three on the team was Freeman Academy/Marion in Matthew Hagen, Connor Epp and Maddox Kihne, all senior guards.

Corsica-Stickney had seniors Shad Bosma, a guard, and Lucas Krogstad, a forward, picked.

Among the duplicated all-conference honorees were Colome’s Laprath and Thieman, Scotland’s Stephen Johnson and Friederich, Burke’s Benter and Nick Nelson, Avon’s Thury and ACDC’s AJ Johnson.

122822 B-E White River Sutton Arend.JPG
Bridgewater-Emery's Sutton Arend pulls down a rebound during the Hoop City Classic on Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2022 at the Corn Palace.
Marcus Traxler / Mitchell Republic


Bridgewater-Emery senior guard Sutton Arend headlined the all-Cornbelt first team as the conference’s MVP.


Also on the first team were Canistota junior guard Tage Ortman, Hanson senior forward Ethan Cheeseman, Howard sophomore forward Luke Koepsell and Viborg-Hurley sophomore center Nick Hanson.

Howard junior forward Kolt Koepsell, Hanson junior guard Jayce Slaba and Canistota junior center Brandon Kjetland were included on the second team.

On the third team, Bridgewater-Emery had senior guard Sam Hofer, Freeman had freshman forward Tate Sorensen and Howard had senior guard Ryder Erickson.

281 Conference

Wessington Springs put junior guard Blake Larson and sophomore forward Ryder Michalek on the all-281 Conference first team.

Also on the first team were James Valley Christian’s Landon Wager and Landon Wallman and Wolsey-Wessington’s Tate French.

On the second team, Sanborn Central/Woonsocket was represented by junior guard Jeff Boschee.

Springs also had freshman guard Parker Graff picked to the third team.

Big Dakota


Among the Big Dakota Conference selections were Winner’s Volmer and Hammerbeck and Chamberlain’s Munger.

Both schools had two honorable mention picks. Winner had Barfuss and senior forward Ethan Bartels, while Chamberlain had senior guard Collin Two Strike and sophomore forward Kenyon McCloskey.

Big East

In the Big East Conference, sophomore Boston Katzer landed on the first team for McCook Central/Montrose. He is joined by Sioux Valley senior Oliver Vincent and junior Alec Squires, Beresford senior Tate VanOtterloo and Chester junior Jovi Wolf.

On the third team, MCM's sophomore Mason Sabers was a selection, and teammates Ty Morrison and Owen Alley were honorable mentions.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Mitchell Republic." Often, the "Mitchell Republic" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local