Phillips highlights four Kernels on Class 11AA all-state squad

Mitchell's Parker Phillips (41) breaks free for a touchdown as Spearfish's John Jeffery (23) and the rest of the Spartans give chase during a game on Saturday at Joe Quintal Field. (Matt Gade / Republic)

Mitchell High School recorded one of the best offensive statistical seasons in program history and was rewarded a total of four selections to the Class 11AA all-state team.

Despite losing the final seven games of the season, the Kernels rushed for 323.7 yards per game, the fifth-highest total since the playoff era began in 1981. They also had three players with at least 10 rushing touchdowns for the first time in school history.

As a result, running back Parker Phillips, fullback Josh Grosdidier, offensive tackle Ben Ziebarth and lineback Joseph Van Overschelde were all named to the all-state team by the Class 11AA coaches.

Four-time Class 11AA state champion Pierre and runner-up Brookings posted the most selections with six apiece.

Phillips, a senior, makes his second consecutive appearance on the all-state team after rushing for 1,429 yards and 16 touchdowns. Phillips proved to be a dual threat, recording 2,151 all-purpose yards and 20 scores.


The 5-foot-7, 165-pound running back recorded the fourth-highest single-season rushing total in Mitchell annals, while also finishing his career tied for third with Jason Greenway with 29 rushing touchdowns and fourth with 2,607 rushing yards.

“Parker has been a dynamic player for us,” MHS head coach Kent Van Overschelde said. “He has worked hard, and led our team on offense over the last two years. He has proven to be versatile and capable of big plays on offense and special teams.”

Joseph Van Overschelde also makes his second consecutive all-state team after earning recognition as a long snapper in 2019, as this time the junior linebacker led Mitchell in tackles for the second year in a row.

He made 124 tackles, with 10 1/2 coming behind the line of scrimmage. In his two-year varsity career, Van Overschelde made 220 total tackles and 10.5 per game.

“Joseph improved from his sophomore to junior year,” Kent Van Overschelde said. “He is a dedicated worker, four-sport athlete and an inspirational leader on the field and off. Has grown into a great kid and good football player.”

Ziebarth earned all-state honors after serving as a three-year starter, paving the way for the Kernels to rush for 3,236 yards from his offensive tackle position. The 6-foot, 245-pound senior also made 36 tackles -- seven for a loss -- and two sacks on defense.

Grosdidier was among the runners that benefited from Ziebarth’s blocking, rushing for 432 yards and 13 touchdowns in his first season as a varsity starter. The junior also made 89 tackles as a linebacker on defense.

“Josh proved to be a physical and versatile back and played an important role in our defense,” Van Overschelde said. “He most improved from his freshman to junior years, where he contributed in all aspects of the team: offense, defense and special teams.”




Quarterback: Lincoln Kienholz, so., Pierre.

Tight end/fullback: Regan Bollweg, sr., Pierre; Josh Grosdidier, jr., Mitchell.

Running back: Maguire Raske, sr., Pierre; Josh Buri, sr., Brookings; Parker Phillips, sr., Mitchell.

Wide receiver: Cam Zahrbock, jr., Yankton; Sanden Graham, sr., Sturgis; Max Kranzler, jr., Huron.

Offensive line: Gunnar Gehring, sr., Pierre; Davis Engen, jr., Brookings; Ben Ziebarth, sr., Mitchell; Jason Maciejczak, so., Douglas; Bodie Rutledge, jr., Yankton; Tristan Cardona, sr., Huron.



Defensive line: Preston Taylor, sr., Pierre; Parker Theobald, sr., Brookings; Malik Ahmad-Hosie, sr., Douglas; Zavier Leonard, sr., Yankton.

Linebacker: Derick Siemonsma, sr., Huron; Wren Jacobs, sr., Sturgis; Joseph Van Overschelde, jr., Mitchell; Wes Koenig, sr., Brookings.

Defensive back: Cord Ellis, sr., Pierre; Jackson Krogman, sr., Brookings; Ryan Janes, sr., Huron; Trevor Fitzgerald, sr., Yankton.

SPECIAL TEAMS: Payton Theodosopulos, jr., Brookings; Brodie Eisenbraun, sr., Sturgis.

ATHLETES: Derek Webster, sr., Spearfish; Talon Elshere, sr, Sturgis.

ALL-AMERICAN SELECTION: Maguire Raske, Pierre.

HONORABLE MENTION: Cade McNeil, jr., Huron; Jaxon Bowes, jr., Brookings; Keegan Fields, sr., Brookings; Max Struck, sr., Brookings; Tyler Clark, sr., Douglas; Corbin Sohler, sr., Yankton; Houston Lunde, sr., Pierre; Gavin Fixsen, jr., Brookings; Mason Ruzicka, sr., Yankton; Jarrod Duran, sr., Sturgis; Trevor Paulson, so., Yankton.


What To Read Next
Get Local