SUBSCRIBE NOW AND SAVE 3 months just 99 ¢/month



Mitchell splits foursome of matches at Watertown Duals

Kernels move to 3-2 on the young season in dual action


WATERTOWN — Mitchell’s wrestlers earned two wins and claimed third place at the nine-team Marv Sherrill Dual Tournament Saturday at the Watertown Civic Arena.

In the opening pool portion of the event, Mitchell won both duals, knocking off Yankton 72-9 and Canby (Minn.) 49-23. That sent Mitchell to the Gold Pool round-robin duals with the other opening-round first-place teams and Mitchell went 0-2, falling 43-22 to Watertown and 55-18 to Harrisburg.

At 132 pounds, Brock Sparks finished undefeated for the day, with two decisions, a major decision and a forfeit. Beau Foote was undefeated at 285 pounds with a decision, a 27-second pin and two forfeits, and Jagger Tyler did the same at 145 pounds, with two pins, a decision and a forfeit.

Mitchell’s Joe VanOverschelde led the way in the pin category, scoring a pair in 1:48 of total match time in a 3-1 day. Tucker Vilhauer and Brandon Sparks each had two pins on the day as well. Vilhauer finished 3-1 on the day, while Brandon Sparks was 2-0. Spencer Eldeen also won two of his three matches at 106 pounds and benefitted from a forfeit.

Watertown won the Gold Pool and the overall title by virtue of its 2-0 record and a 30-28 win over Harrisburg.


Mitchell (3-2) will participate in its first individual-point-based tournament of the year on Friday, Dec. 10 and Saturday, Dec. 11 at the Rapid City Invitational at The Monument’s Summit Arena.

Mitchell 72, Yankton 9

106: Spencer Eldeen (Mitchell) over Parker Kisch (Yankton) Fall 3:31

113: Cruz Alhizer (Mitchell) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf

120: Kaileb Hubbard (Mitchell) over Collin Patrick (Yankton) Fall 3:31

126: Dylan Sloan (Yankton) over Penn Long (Mitchell) Fall 2:42

132: Brock Sparks (Mitchell) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf


138: Brandon Sparks (Mitchell) over Evan Nelson (Yankton) Fall 4:51

145: Jagger Tyler (Mitchell) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf

152: Tucker Vilhauer (Mitchell) over Austin Pederson (Yankton) Fall 2:15

160: Conner Thelen (Mitchell) over Asa Swenson (Yankton) Fall 3:28

170: Jackson Conway (Yankton) over Kendall Fick (Mitchell) Dec 9-7

182: Joe VanOverschelde (Mitchell) over Max Diedrichson (Yankton) Fall 0:25

195: Seth Foote (Mitchell) over Vaden Griel (Yankton) Fall 2:48

220: Cordell Kunkel (Mitchell) by forfeit


285: Beau Foote (Mitchell) by forfeit

Mitchell 49, Canby (Minn.) 23

106: Spencer Eldeen (Mitchell) by forfeit

113: Eli Greenman (Canby) over Cruz Alhizer (Mitchell) Maj 20-7

120: Kaileb Hubbard (Mitchell) over Issac Guzman (Canby) Dec 5-0

126: Blake Giese (Canby) over Penn Long (Mitchell) Maj 10-2

132: Brock Sparks (Mitchell) over Sam Drietz (Canby) Maj 11-3

138: Brandon Sparks (Mitchell) over Nathan Cole (Canby) Fall 1:39

145: Jagger Tyler (Mitchell) over Easton Antony (Canby) Fall 3:50

152: Lane Fink (Canby) over Tucker Vilhauer (Mitchell) Fall 5:02

160: Lincoln Fink (Canby) over Conner Thelen (Mitchell) Fall 0:54

170: Kendall Fick (Mitchell) over Sawyer Drietz (Canby) Fall 3:11

182: Joe VanOverschelde (Mitchell) over Sawyer Drietz (Canby) Fall 1:23

195: Parker Verhelst (Canby) over Seth Foote (Mitchell) Dec 7-1

220: Cordell Kunkel (Mitchell) by forfeit

285: Beau Foote (Mitchell) over Gavin Noyes (Canby) Fall 0:27

Watertown 43, Mitchell 22

106: Spencer Eldeen (Mitchell) over Leo Stroup (Watertown) Maj 15-4

113: Sloan Johannsen (Watertown) over Cruz Alhizer (Mitchell) TF 16-0

120: Braden Le (Watertown) over Kaileb Hubbard (Mitchell) Maj 15-6

126: Connor Hanson (Watertown) over Penn Long (Mitchell) Fall 0:00

132: Brock Sparks (Mitchell) over Weston Everson (Watertown) Dec 5-0

138: Nathan Briggs (Watertown) by forfeit

145: Jagger Tyler (Mitchell) over Derek Hanson (Watertown) Fall 0:00

152: Tucker Vilhauer (Mitchell) over Ian Johnson (Watertown) Dec 7-0

160: Jax Kettwig (Watertown) over Conner Thelen (Mitchell) Maj 11-3

170: Ben Althoff (Watertown) over Kendall Fick (Mitchell) Fall 0:00

182: Joe VanOverschelde (Mitchell) over Mac Young (Watertown) Dec 6-5

195: Brock Eitreim (Watertown) over Seth Foote (Mitchell) Fall 0:00

220: Draven Bau (Watertown) over Cordell Kunkel (Mitchell) Fall 0:00

285: Beau Foote (Mitchell) over Micah Hach (Watertown) Dec 6-1

Harrisburg 55, Mitchell 18

106: Tyler Wurth (Harrisburg) over Spencer Eldeen (Mitchell) Fall 3:22

113: Emory Johnson (Harrisburg) over Cruz Alhizer (Mitchell) Maj 16-8

120: Carter Ractliffe (Harrisburg) over Kaileb Hubbard (Mitchell) Fall 0:33

126: Lincoln Peters (Harrisburg) over Penn Long (Mitchell) Fall 4:52

132: Brock Sparks (Mitchell) over Korbyn Ockenga (Harrisburg) Dec 7-3

138: Peyton Tryon (Harrisburg) by forfeit

145: Jagger Tyler (Mitchell) over Logan O`Connor (Harrisburg) Dec 5-4

152: Tucker Vilhauer (Mitchell) over Brandon Simunek (Harrisburg) Fall 1:54

160: Soren Aadland (Harrisburg) over Conner Thelen (Mitchell) Fall 4:57

170: Colin Horrocks (Harrisburg) over Kendall Fick (Mitchell) Fall 1:02

182: Ryan Hirschkorn (Harrisburg) over Joe VanOverschelde (Mitchell) Dec 6-3

195: Jack Detert (Harrisburg) over Seth Foote (Mitchell) Fall 1:10

220: Ayden Viox (Harrisburg) over Cordell Kunkel (Mitchell) Fall 1:45

285: Beau Foote (Mitchell) by forfeit

What to read next
Class B No. 1 De Smet outscored No. 2 White River 23-10 in the third quarter to hand the Tigers their second loss of the season
High school wrestling action from Jan. 22, 2022 from around the region
Mitchell holds off host Chamberlain for team title
Panthers manage to hold on late to defeat No. 2 Cavaliers