Hutmacher highlights SD’s best of 2020

Chamberlain grad receives prep boys athlete award

Nash at state1.JPG
Chamberlain's Nash Hutmacher wrestles Brookings' Gus Miller in the Class A state championship at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls.

Chamberlain High School graduate Nash Hutmacher was honored in the South Dakota Sportswriters’ Association’s annual year-end awards, recognizing the top individuals, coaches and teams of 2019. The awards are a yearly tradition dating back to 1954.

Hutmacher received the top prep male athlete of the year for the third straight season. Hutmacher continued his utter domination in Class A’s 285-pound class in early 2020. With a 42-0 undefeated season (all via pins), Hutmacher finished his career on a 166-match win streak, a state-record 73 consecutive pins and 226 career victories. He is the only heavyweight wrestler in South Dakota history to win four straight state championships. He’s now on the University of Nebraska football roster.

Here are the other selections:

Sports celebrity

Blake Treinen, Los Angeles Dodgers

Treinen, 32, who pitched at South Dakota State University for two seasons in 2010 and 2011, had a key role in the Los Angeles Dodgers’ bullpen, helping them win their first World Series in 32 years. He had a save in Game 5 of the World Series and finished the playoffs with 10 strikeouts in 11 1/3 innings and was a key high-leverage reliever for the Dodgers and returning to his form from 2018, when he was an All-Star bullpen pitcher for Oakland.


Individual Male

Chase Mason, Viborg

Playing for the Harrisburg American Legion team, Mason posted a 5-2 record with a 1.48 earned run average and 85 strikeouts in 52 innings pitched. He also batted .248 with 9 home runs, 25 RBI, 23 stolen bases and 40 runs scored.

Individual Female

Tessa Stoltenburg, Watertown

Stoltenburg was one of 390 female runners who competed in the 2020 U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials in Atlanta, Ga. in late February. Believed to be first "born and raised" South Dakota woman to even run in the U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials.

Individual Team

Rapid City Post 22 baseball

Post 22 continued its South Dakota American Legion dominance.


The Hardhats won their 43rd state title with a 9-1 win over Brandon Valley. Post 22 also has eight national regional championships and an American Legion World Series championship in 1993 on their résumé.

College Male Athlete

Chris Nilsen, USD

Broke the NCAA Indoor pole vault record with a mark of 19-5 1/2 at the Nebraska Tune-Up in February. Was the top qualifier for the NCAA Indoor Championships before the meet was cancelled due to COVID-19. Has turned pro in pursuit of qualifying for the 2021 Tokyo Games.

College Men’s Coach

Eric Henderson, South Dakota State basketball

In his inaugural season as head coach, Henderson coached the Jackrabbits to the Summit League regular-season championship and a 22-win season. Henderson was recognized as the conference coach of the year, the first new coach to win the award since 2015.

College Men’s Team

Northern State basketball

Under first-year head coach Saul Phillips, Northern State won the NSIC tournament championship for a third straight year, capping a 26-6 season. The end of the year included nine straight victories for the Wolves, who were among the nation's best teams in field-goal percentage and fewest turnovers.


College Women’s Athlete

Ciara Duffy, South Dakota basketball

Duffy, the senior from Rapid City, finished her career by winning the Summit League player of the year award, was recognized as the Mid-Major Player of the Year by multiple outlets and became USD’s first player to receive Associated Press All-American honorable mention honors at the D-I level, averaging 17 points, six rebounds and five assists per game. She scored the third-most points in USD women’s basketball history, leading the team in points, free-throw percentage and assists as a senior.

College Women’s Coach

Dawn Plitzuweit, South Dakota basketball

Plitzuweit guided the Coyotes to a 30-2 season, including finishing No. 11 in the coaches poll and 17th in the Associated Press final poll. In the coaches poll, the Coyotes were ranked for 16 straight weeks. It is the fourth straight 20-win season for Plitzuweit in as many years as USD head coach and the third straight with at least 28 victories.

College Women’s Team

South Dakota women’s basketball

Powered by first-team all-Summit standouts Ciara Duffy and Hannah Sjerven, the Coyotes were undefeated in Summit League regular-season and tournament play, and rattled off a 19-game win streak to close the season at 30-2. That included finishing the season as the nation’s No. 1-ranked mid-major team and a 63-58 win over rival South Dakota State for the conference tournament title.


Prep Boys’ Coach

Steve Steele, Pierre

Despite graduating multiple key seniors and bringing in a sophomore quarterback, Steele ensured his squad steadily improved throughout the season and hit their stride down the stretch en route to another Class 11AA state title.

Prep Boys’ Team

Pierre T.F. Riggs football

Won fourth straight Class 11AA state championship with third different quarterback. The Governors capped off a 9-2 season with a 38-6 win over Brookings in the title tilt.

Quarterback Lincoln Kienholz finished with 151 passing yards to win Joe Robbie MVP honors, while Maguire Raske had 164 yards and a touchdown on 28 rushing attempts.

Kienholz, Regan Bollweg, Raske, Gunnar Gehring, Preston Taylor, Cord Ellis and Houston Lunde were all-state selections.

Prep Girls’ Athlete

Bergen Reilly, O'Gorman

Reilly was instrumental for the Class AA state volleyball champs.


The all-state selection finished the season with 359 kills, 30 aces, 3 solo and 51 block assists and 222 digs. Reilly’s brilliance helped O’Gorman finish with a 26-0 record.

Prep Girls’ Coach

Nora Groft, Northwestern Volleyball

Led program to Class B state title for second straight season, with a loss to O’Gorman as the lone blemish. The Wildcats downed their rival Warner in the title match. Sydney Schell and Hannah Schentzel were all-state honorees.

Prep Girls’ Team

O'Gorman Volleyball

Volleyball team finished 26-0 and was the first undefeated Class AA champion since 1991. O’Gorman topped Huron in the championship match. Bergen Reilly and Raegan Reilly were all-state selections.

What To Read Next
Get Local