Jada Campbell earns defensive player of the year honors as five Tigers receive all-GPAC recognition

Campbell, a 6-foot-4 senior center from Alexandria, leads DWU in scoring at 14.4 points along with six rebounds and 1.6 blocks per game.

011123 DWU Midland WBB Jada Campbell.JPG
Dakota Wesleyan's Jada Campbell makes a post move against Midland during a women's college basketball game on Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2023, at the Corn Palace.
Marcus Traxler / Mitchell Republic

SIOUX CITY, Iowa — For the second-straight season, a Dakota Wesleyan women’s basketball player was named defensive player of the year within the Great Plains Athletic Conference.

Jada Campbell, a 6-foot-4 senior center, was named co-defensive player of the year, sharing the honor with Briar Cliff guard Kennedy Benne, who also shared the honor in 2020-21, the GPAC announced in a Wednesday release.

Campbell, an Alexandria native, leads DWU in scoring at 14.4 points along with six rebounds and 1.6 blocks per game. It’s the third-straight season Campbell has landed on the all-conference honors, with a second-team nod last season and honorable mention status in 2020-21.

Dakota Wesleyan's Matti Reiner (34) attempts an off balance shot in front of a Morningside defender during a Great Plains Athletic Conference women's basketball game on Wednesday, Feb. 15, 2023, at the Corn Palace.
Landon Dierks / Mitchell Republic

DWU was represented on the all-GPAC first team by senior forward Matti Reiner, a Tripp native, who was more than 1,200 career points as a Tiger. For the season, Reiner has averaged 13.8 points, 5.3 rebounds, 3.9 assists and 1.5 steals per game. It was Reiner’s second-straight year as a first-team performer and third all-conference season overall, having been a second-team selection in 2020-21.

Campbell was one of two Tigers on the all-conference second team, joined by junior guard Isabel Ihnen. This season, Ihnen has started all 30 games, averaging 9.2 points, 3.8 rebounds and 1.3 steals per game.


Dakota Wesleyan's Isabel Ihnen dribbles the ball up the court in a women's basketball game against Briar Cliff on Thursday, Jan. 5, 2023, at the Corn Palace.
Adam Thury / Mitchell Republic

Freshman guard Rylee Rosenquist and sophomore guard Morgan Edelman were honorable mention selections for DWU. Rosenquist made 13 starts, averaging 8.5 points and 4.8 rebounds per game. Edelman started 27 contests, putting up 8.1 points, 5.9 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 1.7 steal per outing.

Dordt's Karly Gustafson, of Ethan, was named first-team all-conference for the second year in a row, as the senior put up 16.5 points and 7.1 rebounds per game.

Members Only
For NAIA No. 4-ranked Dordt (23-1), Gustafson ranks fourth in the GPAC in scoring (17.1 points), second in shooting percentage (62.1%), third in rebounding (7.4) and 10th in assists (3.0) per game.

Jamestown’s Hannah DeMars, a senior forward, was named the conference’s player of the year. DeMars averaged 17.7 points and 9.9 rebounds per game for the Jimmies, who went 21-8 overall and 16-6 in conference play.

Macy Sievers, of Dordt, earned the conference freshman of the year award. Dordt coach Bill Harmsen and Jamestown’s Thad Sankey shared co-coach of the year honors.

The 6-foot-4 senior forward ranked first for the Tigers with 13.7 points and 4.4 assists per game and was second on the team at 6.6 rebounds per game.

2022-23 GPAC women’s basketball all-conference teams

  • GPAC Player of the Year: Hannah DeMars, Jamestown
  • GPAC Defensive Player of the Year: Jada Campbell, Dakota Wesleyan; Kennedy Benne, Briar Cliff
  • GPAC Freshman of the Year: Macy Sievers, Dordt
  • GPAC Coach of the Year: Bill Harmsen, Dordt; Thad Sankey, Jamestown

First Team (10 members, Listed alphabetically by last name)
Bailey Beckman, Dordt 5-3, sr., guard, Panorama, Iowa
Hannah DeMars, Jamestown 5-11, sr., forward, Grand Rapids, Minn.
Karly Gustafson, Dordt 6-0, sr., forward, Ethan, S.D.
Mak Hatcliff, Doane 5-7, so., guard, Beatrice, Neb.
Maddie Jones, Northwestern 5-5, sr., guard, Twin Lakes, Iowa
Sophia Peppers, Morningside 5-10, sr., forward, Exira, Iowa
Matti Reiner, Dakota Wesleyan 5-10, sr., forward, Tripp, S.D.
Taysha Rushton, Concordia 5-5, so., guard, Midland, Texas
Konnor Sudmann, Briar Cliff 5-11, sr., guard, Treynor, Iowa
Kia Tower, Jamestown 5-6, sr., guard, Bigfork, Minn.

Second team
Kennedy Benne, Briar Cliff, 5-8, jr., guard, Oakland, Neb.
Jada Campbell, Dakota Wesleyan, 6-4, sr., center, Alexandria, S.D.
Emilee Danner, Northwestern, 5-10, sr., guard Westside, Iowa
Madelyn Deitchler, Briar Cliff, 5-11, sr., center Treynor, Iowa
Macy Holtz, Doane, 5-7, so., guard, Plainview, Minn.
Isabel Ihnen, Dakota Wesleyan, 5-7,, jr., guard, Lennox, S.D.
Abby Krieser, Concordia, 5-8, So., guard, Lincoln, Neb.
Sadie Powell, Concordia, 6-0, So., forward, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Molly Schany, Northwestern, 6-1, Jr., forward, Emmetsburg, Iowa
Janie Schoonhoven, Dordt, 5-10, so., forward, Hospers, Iowa

Honorable Mention
Briar Cliff: Payton Slaughter, Peyton Wingert
College of Saint Mary: Madelyn Turner
Concordia: Kendal Brigham. Mackenzie Toomey
Dakota Wesleyan: Rylee Rosenquist, Morgan Edelman
Doane: Megan Chambers
Dordt: Macy Sievers
Hastings: Allie Bauer, Mariyah Avila
Midland: Erin Prusa
Morningside: McKenna Sims, Alexis Spier, Chloe Lofstrom
Mount Marty: Eve Millar. Kaela Martinez
Northwestern: Taylor VanderVelde
Jamestown: Audrey Rodakowski, Kate Busek

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Mitchell Republic." Often, the "Mitchell Republic" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local