Class B state amateur baseball tournament bracket announced, to begin on Wednesday in Mitchell

Sixteen-game first round gets underway with both Plankinton teams in action on opening night

Fans watch the action during the 2017 state amateur baseball tournament at Cadwell Park in Mitchell.
Fans watch the action during the 2017 state amateur baseball tournament at Cadwell Park in Mitchell.
Mitchell Republic file photo

MITCHELL — The South Dakota Class B state amateur baseball field is in place for the 90th edition of the tournament this week at Cadwell Park.

The tournament’s opening session will include both teams from Plankinton, with the first-time state participant Plankinton Gold Sox taking on Madison at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 3, followed by Garretson and the Plankinton Bankers at 7:30 p.m.

Thursday’s games open with Mount Vernon and Redfield Dairy Queen playing at 11 a.m., followed by Akron, Iowa and Milbank at 1 p.m. The Sunshine League trend continues with Platte against Aurora at 5:30 p.m., and Alexandria taking on Wessington Springs at 7:30 p.m.

Four teams from the Cornbelt League will be in action on Friday. Canova and Tabor will meet in Friday’s leadoff game at 11 a.m., followed by Lennox Only One and Wynot (Neb.) at 1 p.m. Salem and Four Corners will tangle at 5:30 p.m., followed by Dimock/Emery and Hartford/Humboldt Gamecocks in the nightcap.

The weekend first-round games start with the defending champion Dell Rapids Mudcats facing Northville at 11 a.m. Saturday, followed by Volga and Larchwood (Iowa) at 1 p.m. Freeman and Lake Norden will play at 5:30 p.m., with Winner/Colome and the Redfield Pheasants playing at 7:30 p.m.


The first round ends in Sunday’s first session with Menno and Flandreau playing at 11 a.m., followed by the Castlewood Monarchs and Kimball/White Lake playing at 1 p.m.

The second round of play will take place nightly from Sunday, Aug. 7 to Wednesday, Aug. 10, with the quarterfinal round being played Thursday, Aug. 11 and Friday, Aug. 12. The Class B semifinals will take place Saturday, with the championship game tentatively scheduled for 2 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 14.

The drawings were made by South Dakota Amateur Baseball Association commissioners on Sunday in Mitchell. The draw includes placing the seven district champions in the bracket first and positioning them so those teams cannot play each other until the quarterfinals, and the positioning the second-place finishers in those districts on the opposite half of the bracket via random draw.

Once those principles are followed, the remaining teams are drawn to fill out the remainder of the field with the only rule being that teams from the same league cannot play each other in the first round.

The Class A portion of the tournament will get underway on Aug. 5 in Aberdeen and the second weekend of play involving the last six teams remaining — Aug. 12-13-14 — will be played at Drake Field and Cadwell Park, with the championship set for noon on Aug. 14 in Mitchell.

The Class B tournament is taking place in Mitchell for the eighth time in the last nine years and is set to be held at Cadwell Park again in 2023.

Class B state amateur tournament

Aug. 3-14 at Cadwell Park


First round 

Wednesday, Aug. 3 

G1: Plankinton Gold Sox vs. Madison, 5:30 p.m.

G2: Garretson vs. Plankinton Bankers, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 4

G3: Mount Vernon vs. Redfield Dairy Queen, 11 a.m.

G4: Akron (Iowa) vs. Milbank, 1 p.m.

G5: Platte vs. Aurora, 5:30 p.m.


G6: Wessington Springs vs. Alexandria, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 5

G7: Tabor vs. Canova, 11 a.m.

G8: Lennox Only One vs. Wynot (Neb.), 1 p.m.

G9: Salem vs. Four Corners, 5:30 p.m.

G10: Dimock/Emery vs. Hartford/Humboldt Gamecocks, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 6

G11: Dell Rapids Mudcats vs. Northville, 11 a.m.


G12: Volga vs. Larchwood (Iowa), 1 p.m.

G13: Freeman vs. Lake Norden, 5:30 p.m.

G14: Winner/Colome vs. Redfield Pheasants, 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 7

G15: Menno vs. Flandreau, 11 a.m.

G16: Castlewood Monarchs vs. Kimball/White Lake, 1 p.m.

Second round 

Sunday, Aug. 7


G17: G1 winner vs. G2 winner, 5:30 p.m.

G18: G3 winner vs. G4 winner, 7:30 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 8

G19: G5 winner vs. G6 winner, 6 p.m.

G20: G7 winner vs. G8 winner, 8 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 9

G21: G9 winner vs. G10 winner, 6 p.m.

G22: G11 winner vs. G12 winner, 8 p.m.


Wednesday, Aug. 10

G23: G13 winner vs. G14 winner, 6 p.m.

G24: G15 winner vs. G16 winner, 8 p.m.


Thursday, Aug. 11

G25: G17 winner vs. G18 winner, 6 p.m.

G26: G19 winner vs. G20 winner, 8 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 12

G27: G21 winner vs. G22 winner, 6 p.m.

G28: G23 winner vs. G24 winner, 8 p.m.


Saturday, Aug. 13

G29: G25 winner vs. G26 winner, 5 p.m.

G30: G27 winner vs. G28 winner, 7:30 p.m.


Sunday, Aug. 14

G31: Semifinal winners, 2 p.m.

Traxler is the assistant editor and sports editor for the Mitchell Republic. He's worked for the newspaper since 2014 and has covered a wide variety of topics. He can be reached at
What To Read Next
Get Local