Canistota/Freeman lands seven on Cornbelt all-conference teams

Canistota/Freeman's Bailey Sage (33) stiff arms Britton-Hecla's Colby Carlson (56) while carrying the ball towards the sideline during the Class 9A state championships on Thursday at Dana J. Dykhouse Stadium in Brookings. (Matt Gade / Republic)

The Cornbelt Conference had two state champions, and they made up a large portion of the all-conference team. Class 9AA champion Viborg Hurley had the 9AA MVP in Chase Mason, while Bailey Sage won it for 9B/9A as part of Class 9A champion Canistota/Freeman.

Sage also made the all-conference first team, along with teammates Trey Ortman, Tyce Ortman and Micah Swensen. On the second team, the Pride had Clayton Smith, Logan Katzer and Cole Papendick.

For Howard, Riley Genzlinger, Jaxon Kampshoff and Paul Winker each made the first team. Meanwhile, Lane Miller, Isaac Feldhaus and Samuel Callies all made the second team.

Hanson’s only first-team member was Riley Ferry, but the Beavers had a pair on the second team. Reggie Slaba and Brody Chivington were both honored.

Menno/Marion’s Austin Kessler made the second team, as well.

What To Read Next
The Red Raiders erased a 35-26 halftime deficit by opening the second half on a 17-4 run.
Members Only
DWU girls defeat Northwestern, 55-41 & DWU boys fall to Northwestern, 65-62.
“The thing that stuck out ... was defense,” coach Jason Christensen said. “To hold them to 22% shooting in that fourth quarter … you hold a Northwestern team to 41 points, that’s pretty remarkable.”
Jackrabbits add Western Oregon for home opener on Sept. 2