The 2019 South Dakota High School Coaches Association announced its coach of

the year awards for the winter on Monday.

Winner's Larry Aaker received the girls basketball coach of the year, while Spencer Novotny was honored as the wrestling coach of the year.

The other winter recipients included:

• Gymnastics - Sherri Johnson, Estelline/Hendricks

• Boys basketball - Brent Deckert, Brandon Valley

• Athletics director - Randy Marso, Brandon Valley

• Official - Chad Gordon, Yankton

These coaches, athletic director and official will be recognized at the annual awards banquet to

be held on Sunday, July 7 at 1 p.m. at the Highland Conference Center in Mitchell.

The SDHSCA also announced the newest members of the SDHSCA Hall of Fame.

• Mary Ellen Luikens of Scotland in assistant coaching.

• Tom McGough of Miller in cross country and track & field

• Dan Thelen (deceased) in football and track & field

• Jim Trett of Sioux Falls in basketball

They will be inducted at an awards luncheon held in conjunction with the summer coaches clinic.