Area wrestling roundup: MCM takes second at home invite


SALEM -- A bevy of area teams competed at the McCook Central/Montrose Invite on Saturday, but Canton came out on top. It scored 269 points to win the invite.

McCook Central/Montrose (176) placed second, followed by Winner Area (170), Kimball/White Lake/Platte-Geddes (152) and Burke/Gregory (130) rounding out the top five.

Despite placing second, MCM didn’t have any individual champions. Jackson Remmers fell to Winner’s Kaden Keiser to place second at 126 pounds, finishing as the Fighting Cougars’ highest finisher.

Keiser was joined by Trevor Peters (152 pounds) and Sam Kruger, who defeated BG’s Frank Even at 160 pounds, as Winner’s first-place finishers. Riley Orel placed second at 138 pounds.

BG’s Owen Hansen (113) and Jackson Eklund (145) each claimed an individual title, too. For Bon Homme/Scotland/Avon, Josh Crownover defeated MVPCS’ Thomas Baker, 5-2, at 182 pounds. MVPCS’ lone first-place wrestler was Hadley Tobin (106), who won 6-0 over KWLPG’s Kasen Konstanz.


MVPCS also had second-place finishes from Griffin Tobin (120) and Hunter Pranger (170). For KWLPG, Wyatt Talbott placed second at 132 pounds. Clayton Smith, of Marion/Freeman, took second at 220 pounds and BHSA’s Micah DeBoer did the same at 285 pounds.

Cubs run away with Webster Invite title

WEBSTER -- Chamberlain cruised through the competition at the Webster Invite on Saturday, doubling every other team’s point total. The Cubs finished with 236 team points, followed by Clark/Willow Lake (102), Deslacs-Burlington (ND) (88), Sioux Valley (82.5) and Miller/Highmore-Harrold (77) rounding out the top five.

Chamberlain’s Nash Hutmacher pinned Deslacs-Burlington’s Jordan Robbins in 21 seconds to win the 285-pound championship.

Dominic Santiago pinned MHH’s Drew Kroeplin in 3:32 to claim the 120-pound title. There was an all-Chamberlain championship match at 126 pounds, as Trey Neilan pinned teammate Thomas Powell. Jasiah Thompson (180) pinned Sioux Valley’s Lev Nedelco, as well.

Gabe Skustad (132) won via a 13-2 major decision and Noah Hutmacher won the 170-pound title with a 4-0 decision over Sioux Valley’s Seth Heidenreich. Max Hawk’s opponent forfeited, giving him the 195-pound title.

Cody Skustad fell 2-1 to Anthony Benda, of Sisseston, to claim second at 145 pounds. Ruger Forester took third at 220 pounds, while Garrett Ristau (138) and Wyatt Powers (182) each placed fourth.

Related Topics: WRESTLING
What To Read Next
Prep basketball action from around the state from Saturday, Feb. 4.
South Dakota State running away with regular season title
A strong second quarter in which the Kernels outscored Spearfish 22-9 proved critical.
Iowa State-bound JT Rock isn't the only one lighting it up for No. 2 Patriots