Joe Van Overschelde and Macy Kempf earned the Mitchell Republic’s Most Valuable Player awards during the Mitchell High School athletic banquet Wednesday.

The newspaper awards MVP honors to one male and female athlete at Mitchell High School, selected by the sports staff based on athletic performance during the academic year.

Van Overschelde was named to the Class 11AA all-state football team for the second consecutive season. The linebacker led the Kernels with 124 tackles, including 10 1/2 for a loss and averaged 11.3 tackles per game.

The junior also placed third at the Class A state wrestling tournament in the 182-pound division. Van Overschelde finished the season with a 37-6 record and recorded 19 pins. He is also a catcher on the Mitchell baseball team, hitting .356 with eight RBIs in 16 games thus far.

Kempf helped guide the Kernel girls basketball team to a fifth-place finish at the Class AA state tournament this season and was named second-team all-state after averaging 12.8 points, 7 rebounds and 2.3 assists per game. She also shot 51% from the field and made 33 steals.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

The senior was also a midfielder on the girls soccer team, helping Mitchell to an 8-4-2 campaign and a second consecutive trip to the Class AA state tournament.

A list of the Mitchell athletic banquet award winners:

  • Hustler Awards: Heaven Brinker (fall competitive cheer), Maddie Walz (fall competitive dance), Max Hart (boys cross country), Eli Schroeder (boys cross country), Lindsay Andersen (girls cross country), Mya Vogel (girls cross country), Joe Van Overschelde (baseball, football and wrestling), Kiesha Hofer (football sideline cheer), Jamie Herren (football sideline cheer), Macon Larson (boys golf), Wyatt Haibeck (boys soccer), Grace Endorf (girls soccer), Olivia Huber (girls tennis), Sarah Sebert (volleyball), Lizzie Tyler (volleyball), Keirstyn Krcil (softball), Lucas Moller (boys basketball), Adaya Plastow (girls basketball and girls track and field), Madisyn Sheesley (girls basketball sideline cheer), Macie Geppert (boys basketball sideline cheer), Masy Mock (gymnastics and girls golf), Drake Jerke (Marlins boys hockey), Eric Biggerstaff (Marlins boys hockey), Kelsey Amick (Marlins girls hockey), Paige Guthmiller (powerlifting), Brooke Parker (Riptide swimming), Tyler Loecker (boys golf), Ryley Johansen (boys track and field), Bryce Palmer (boys track and field), Nick Lord (baseball and boys strength and conditioning) and Katy Sebert (girls strength and conditioning).

  • CorTrust Bank/MHS Athletic Booster Club Scholarships: Ella Flippin, Macy Kempf, Masy Mock, Lucas Moller, Adaya Plastow, Katy Sebert, Lauren Sparks, Wyatt Winter.

  • Leon Feilmeier Athletic Scholarship: Macy Kempf

  • Dave Brewer Award: Wyatt Winter

  • Jill McCormick Scholarship: Masy Mock

  • Keith “Doc” Fitzpatrick Student Athletic Trainer Award: Lauren Sparks

  • Adam Aslesen Memorial Leadership Award/Scholarship: Lauren Sparks and Wyatt Winter

  • South Dakota Army National Guard “Warrior of the Month” Award: Kiersten Bathke (girls tennis), Kyah Escobin (girls soccer), E.J. Novak (boys soccer), Lucas Moller (boys cross country), Adaya Plastow (girls cross country and girls basketball), Macon Larson (boys golf and boys tennis), Chelsey Mohr (competitive cheer), Madisyn Sheesley (competitive dance), Ben Ziebarth (football), Katy Sebert (volleyball), Emily Moody (gymnastics), Tyson Degen (wrestling), Zane Alm (boys basketball), Lizzie Tyler (girls track and field), Ryley Johansen (boys track and field), Masy Mock (girls golf)

  • MHS Assistant Coach of the Year Award: Jeremy Borgan

  • Tom Maxwell/KORN Radio Coach of the Year Award: Audra Rew

  • KMIT Student-Athlete Award: Wyatt Winter

  • MHS Class of 2021 Hall of Fame inductees: Tim Smith, Dr. Lucio Margallo, Beth (Ommen) Irish and Ron Wiblemo.

  • Adaya Plastow (cross country, basketball and track), Lucas Moller (cross country, basketball and track), Wyatt Winter (football, wrestling and track), Heaven Brinker (competitive cheer, competitive dance and boys basketball sideline cheer), Sarah Sebert (volleyball, basketball and track), Kyra Gropper (competitive cheer, gymnastics and track), Lizzie Tyler (volleyball, basketball and track), Lara Widstrom (competitive cheer, gymnastics and golf), Chloe Holzwarth (competitive cheer, competitive dance and boys basketball sideline cheer), A.J. Siemsen (football, basketball and track), Jagger Tyler (football, wrestling and track) and Adelyn Prunty (soccer, cross country and track)