Weather Forecast


Pair of Mitchell volleyball players headline state all-star match

SIOUX FALLS—The rosters for the 2018 South Dakota all-star volleyball match at 2 p.m. on Dec. 2 at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls were announced.

The South all-stars will be coached by Mitchell High School coach Deb Thill and assisted by Wagner coach Amy Tyler. The team includes Mitchell's Chelsea Brewster and Mandy Schmidt, as well as Wagner's Faith Tyler, McCook Central/Montrose's McKenna Kranz, Ethan's Karly Gustafson and Canistota's Noelle Hofer.

The North all-stars are coached by Jill Kratovil, of Madison, and Anita Boeck, of Arlington.

The complete rosters can be found in the Scoreboard page.

Also, the Miss Volleyball finalists for Class AA, A and B were also released. The Miss Volleyball/All-Star banquet is on Dec. 1 at 7 p.m. at Harrisburg North Middle School.

In Class AA, Brewster is one of the finalists along with Sioux Falls Washington's Lily Bartling, Brookings' Michaela Jewett and Rapid City Stevens' Elizabeth Schaefer.

In Class A, Kranz and Tyler are finalists along with Parker's Grace Leberman and Sioux Falls Christian's Kylee Van Egdom. The Class B finalists are Chester Area's Hanna Reiff, Warner's Laura Ochsner and Ashley Fischbach and Northwestern's Riley Grandpre.

MCM's Tami Bies was also named the Region 5 South Dakota Volleyball Coaches Association coach of the year recipient.