Weather Forecast


Havlik, Max named to all-ESD wrestling team

Mitchell'S Briggs Havlik, right, wrestles Aberdeen Central's Collin Haar in the Class A 160-pound state championship match on Saturday at the Premier Center in Sioux Falls. (Eric Mayer / Republic)

Mitchell High School wrestlers Briggs Havlik and Carson Max were each named to the All-Eastern South Dakota Conference wrestling team on Tuesday.

Max, a junior, won the Class A 195-pound state championship on Saturday, while Havlik, a senior, took second place at 160 pounds.

Twenty-eight wrestlers were picked for the team with Class A state champion Pierre landing six grapplers on the team. The Governors, along with Harrisburg and Watertown, shared the ESD dual title with a 7-1 record. Mitchell finished tied for sixth with a 2-6 dual record.

All-Eastern South Dakota Conference wrestling team

Dual records: T1. Harrisburg, 7-1; T1. Pierre, 7-1; T1. Watertown, 7-1; 4. Brandon Valley, 5-3; 5. Aberdeen Central, 4-4; T6. Huron, 2-6; T6. Mitchell, 2-6; T8. Brookings, 1-7; T8. Yankton, 1-7.

106 (pounds): Ty Althoff, W, 10; Brenden Salfrank, AC, 10; 113: Connor Klinkhammer, B, 11; Jace Bench-Bresher, P, 10; 120: Lincoln Turman, P, 12; Isaac Klinkhammer, BV, 9; Giovanni Ruffo, Y, 9; 126: Jacob Moore, AC, 11; Robert Coyle II, W, 12; 132: Will Turman, P, 12; Jacob Hanssen, Harrisburg, 12; 138: Carlos Ruffo, Y, 10; Chipper Shillingstad, Huron, 11; 145: Michael Lusk, P, 12; Creighton Klinkhammer, BV, 12; 152: Damion Schunke, BV, 8; Tah Jae Jenkins Harris, Huron, 10; 160: Briggs Havlik, M, 12; Collin Haar, AC, 12; Austin Senger, P, 12; 170: Jacob Schoon, B, 11; Nick Schirado, 12, Harrisburg; Travis Kleinsasser, Huron, 12; 182: Wyatt Larsen, Huron, 12; 195: Carson Max, M, 11; Gage Gehring, P, 11; 220: Logan Warzecha, Harrisburg, 12; 285: Kaden Johnson, AC, 11.