Weather Forecast


ACDC, TDA co-op approved for upcoming football season

PIERRE — An emergency cooperative was approved Monday to allow students from Andes Central, Dakota Christian, Tripp-Delmont and Armour schools to play football together.

In an special South Dakota High School Activities Association board meeting held via teleconference, the four schools were given the OK to play together this season and in 2018 in Class 9AA. The decision came following concerns from the Andes Central/Dakota Christian co-op that there would not be a suitable number of players to competitively form a team.

SDHSAA Assistant Executive Director John Krogstrand said his office received a call at the end of June from Andes Central/Dakota Christian school officials about the problem.

"They looked at a lot of possible options and came to rest with the proposed solution," he said.

Andes Central Principal and Activities Director Rocky Brinkman told The Daily Republic last week that ACDC had 13 players available for the season if the Thunder would have been on their own. The enrollment of the schools qualified the team to play in Class 9AA, Krogstrand said.

This will be the second high school football team in South Dakota that uses four schools to build a roster. Board members discussed Monday that North Border, which includes Eureka, Bowdle, Leola and Frederick is a new four-school football cooperative that begins this year.

As for the two teams' schedules, Krogstrand said that because both schools already belonged to the 10-team Great Plains Conference — a league in which the teams exclusively play each other, he said it would not be difficult to make the changes to a nine-team league. The schools in the conference have agreed to change their schedules to retain the an eight-game conference schedule with an in-season bye. In addition to ACDC and TDA, the Great Plains Conference includes Alcester-Hudson, Avon, Burke/South Central, Colome, Centerville, Corsica-Stickney, Gayville-Volin and Scotland.

For the postseason and without the co-op, ACDC was supposed to play in Class 9A, while TDA would have been in Class 9B. Now, the team will be placed in Class 9AA, Region 3, along with Bon Homme, Irene-Wakonda, Menno/Marion, Parker, Parkston and Viborg-Hurley.