Voters to decide county, city races at the polls Nov. 3


Area county and city residents will head to the polls Tuesday night, Nov. 3 to cast their ballots in the 2020 General Election. Along with races and ballot issues at the national and state level, many county- and city-level positions will be decided throughout the region.

Candidates and questions on the ballot will be decided in the following area counties and cities.

Bon Homme

Bon Homme County will see two races for seats on the Bon Homme County Commission. Republican Edward Van Gerpen will face Democrat Bruce A. Voight, the incumbent for the position, for the District 2 seat on the commission. Both candidates hail from Avon.

For the District 4 seat on the county commission, Republican Jason D. Kokesh will face Democrat Terry Sestak.

County commission terms run for four years.


Charles Mix

No contested races.


Voters in Gregory County will see a three-way race for the District 2 race on the county commission. Republican Lance Matucha, Burke, will face off against incumbent Democrat Kelsea Kenzy Sutton, Burke, and Independent Nichole Matucha, also of Burke, for the county commission seat.

The term for the position runs four years.


No contested races.


No contested races.


No contested races.


Voters in Aurora County will select the District 2 seat on the Aurora County Commission from among two candidates. Republican Roger Hanten will face incumbent Democrat Paul Munsen, for the seat. Both candidates are from White Lake.

The commission seat is a two-year term.



No contested races.


Voters in Buffalo County will select a county treasurer and a county commissioner at the election.

Democrat Janice L. Von Eye, the incumbent, will face independent Doreen C. Bagola for the county treasurer position. Von Eye is from Miller and Bagola is from Fort Thompson. The seat is a four-year term.

In the race for the District 2 seat on the Buffalo County Commission, Democrat Dawn L. Cable will face off against Independent Marlin Dean Ross for the seat. Both candidates are from Pukwana. The position is a four-year term.


Voters in Jones County will select between a pair of states attorney candidates.

Diana Boni, an independent candidate, will face Kirby Krogman, another independent for the position. The position is a four-year term. Former South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley has been filling the position after a previous states attorney left the position.


Three candidates will face off for two at-large seats on the Lyman County Commission.

Republican Brian Kraus, of Reliance, will face off against Republican incumbent Leslie Reuer, of Reliance, and independent Kevin Thomas, of Kennebec, for the seats.


The seats are four-year terms.


A seat on the Tripp County Commission will be up for grabs Tuesday night.

Incumbent Republican Daniel Forgey, of Dallas, will face independent Marla Liggett, of Colome, for the District 2 seat on the commission.

The term is a four-year term.


No contested races.


No contested races.


No contested races.


No contested races.



Voters in Sanborn County will select candidates in a pair of county commission races.

In the race for the District 2 seat on the commission, Republican Craig A. Brueske, of Huron, will face incumbent Democrat Paul Larson, of Woonsocket.

In the race for the District 4 seat on the commission, incumbent Republican Steve Larson, of Letcher, will face independent Ray Westendorf at the polls.

The county commission seats are four-year terms.

Wessington Springs

Voters in Wessington Springs will decide on a resolution that would establish a special maintenance fee for the purpose of maintaining or repairing public improvements.

The city of Wessington Springs first passed a special maintenance in 2015. The city must pass its resolution annually. In 2019 the resolution was referred to a vote and failed to receive a majority of the votes and failed.

The current resolution would assess a special maintenance fee of $0.74 per foot based on the front footage of the parcel. On a corner lot the fee is only assessed on one side. The resolution provides that no parcel would be assessed more than $250. The city has budgeted $52,000 to be raised by the fee in the 2021 budget to be used for street maintenance.


Pickstown voters will decide on a city ordinance that amends the maximum height, sidewall height and square footage of unattached garages or sheds within the town. The proposed ordinance would set the maximum height of such structures at 20 feet and the sidewalls at 14 feet.


The ordinance also states that the total size of an unattached garage or shed shall not exceed 10% of the lot area with a maximum size of 1,800 square feet.

Erik Kaufman joined the Mitchell Republic in July of 2019 as an education and features reporter. He grew up in Freeman, S.D., graduating from Freeman High School. He graduated from the University of South Dakota in 1999 with a major in English and a minor in computer science. He can be reached at
What To Read Next
Get Local