Republicans rolling in state House, Senate races

Rolls of voting stickers lay on a table at the Davison County Fairgrounds on June 2 in Mitchell. (Matt Gade / Republic)

Voters filled out their ballots throughout the state Tuesday to determine their picks for the South Dakota House of Representatives and Senate.

The available results at press time are listed below. For complete results, visit

District 8

Republican incumbents Marli Wiese and Randy Gross earned reelection. Wiese had 7,029 votes (36%) and Gross had 6,327 votes (32%).

Democrat Val Parsley had 4,260 votes (22%), while party member John Kessinger had 2,162 votes (11%).

Wiese, a Madison native, and Gross, an Elkton native, finished first and second, respectively, during the 2018 election.


The district is composed of Lake, Miner, Moody and Sanborn counties.

District 20

Incumbent candidates Lance Koth and Paul Miskimins will be representing District 20 in the House of Representatives following Tuesday’s election. The two incumbents, both of Davison County, went unchallenged. Therefore, the Republican duo will be representing District 20 for another two-year term.

Miskimins earned 7,403 votes (55%), while Koth had 6,064 votes (45%).

District 21

Winner native Erin Tobin secured a seat in the state Senate for the first time. The Republican topped Democrat Dan Kerner Andersson, of Burke, 7,628 to 1,998.

Tobin captured 79% of the 9,626 ballots cast, while Andersson had 21%.

In the state representative race, Rocky Blare earned 6,329 votes (44%), while fellow Republican Caleb Finck has 5,038 (35%) and Democrat Jessica Hegge 2,906 (20%).

Blare, an Ideal resident, is aiming to move over from the state Senate, while Finck is seeking reelection for a second two-year term. The Tripp native also finished second in the 2018 election.

District 21 includes Bon Homme County, as well as Charles Mix, Gregory and Tripp counties. Two of the three state representative candidates will receive spots in the House.


District 26

Democrat Troy Heinert secured a fourth term in the state Senate, edging Republican Joel Koskan by 473 votes.

Heinert earned 4,413 votes (53%), while Koskan had 3,940 votes (47%). Heinert defeated Koskan by 446 votes in 2018.

In the District 26B House of Representatives race, Republican Rebecca Reimer scored a big win, securing 3,577 votes (70%), topping Democrat Tim Feliciano’s 1,499 votes (30%).

Reimer won the District 26B race in 2018 with 61.6% votes.

The district serves Brule, Buffalo, Lyman and Jones counties in the House and those counties, plus Todd and Mellette counties in the Senate.

What To Read Next
Get Local