The Mitchell City Council held a special meeting Monday morning to canvass the results of the June 8 municipal election, affirming the results of three races won by the incumbents.

The meeting, held at Mitchell City Hall, made the results of the election official, and completed a process written in state law that requires the vote counts to be certified within seven days of the election.

The following races are now official:

  • Mayor: Bob Everson, 1883; Jason Bates, 422; Giovanni Lanier, 150.
  • Ward 1: Dan Sabers, 408; Clay Loneman, 167.
  • Ward 3: Marty Barington, 361; Pam Bathke, 268.

The council members reviewed the poll books and canvassing sheets. Also certified was Ward 2 council member Kevin McCardle and Ward 4 member Jeff Smith, who were each unopposed and receive three-year terms. Everson, Barington and Sabers will each serve three-year terms as well. Barington wasn't in attendance for Monday's meeting and Sabers abstained from the canvassing process in Ward 1, which is the part of the city he represents.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Mitchell Finance Officer Michelle Bathke also noted that the city's election turnout for municipal races only was 24.6 percent, involving voters who are in the city limits. Total voter turnout in the city-school election, which includes school board voters who live outside city limits, was 22.6%, with a total of 2,699 votes cast in the 2021 election.