Here is the info you need to know about Tuesday’s Mitchell city-school election:

Where do I vote?

All voters, regardless of where they live in the city or school district, will vote in the city-school election at the Mitchell Career and Technical Education Academy, or MCTEA building, at 821 N. Capital St. The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and those in line at 7 p.m. when the polls close will be able to cast a ballot.

Field of three heads into Mitchell mayor race on June 8

2 incumbents, 2 challengers shape Mitchell City Council races

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Six candidates to vie for Mitchell Board of Education seats

What’s on the ballot?

Voters in Mitchell will have up to three races to vote on, depending on where they live.

  • Mayor: Incumbent mayor Bob Everson is being challenged by Jason Bates and Giovanni Lanier. The winner receives a three-year term as mayor.

  • City Council Ward 1: Incumbent Dan Sabers is facing challenger Clay Loneman, with the winner receiving a three-year term. This seat represents the southwest part of Mitchell.

  • City Council Ward 3: Incumbent Marty Barington meets challenger Pam Bathke, with the top vote-getter receiving a three-year term. The council seat represents the northeast part of Mitchell.

  • Mitchell School Board: Voters can choose up to two in the race, which includes candidates Reed Bender, Debbie Emme, Brittni Flood, Chris Nebelsick, Shawn Ruml and Dwight Stadler. The two at-large, contested Mitchell Board of Education seats are vacant. The winners receive three-year terms.

Who votes in the City Council races?

In the Ward 1 race, registered voters who live in the southwest part of the city can cast a ballot. That includes the area south of Fourth Avenue and west of Sanborn Boulevard, except the area east of Sanborn and north of Havens Avenue.

In Ward 3, which includes the northeast quadrant of the city, the registered voters include anyone residing north of Fourth Avenue and east of Rowley Street. lines are East Fourth Avenue and east of North Rowley Street, except the area west of Main Street north of 15th Avenue.

For the rest of the city, voters will have the mayor race and the Mitchell School Board race to vote on. Voters outside the city limits but in the Mitchell School District will have only the school board election to vote on.

Why are there not City Council races in all wards?

Wards 1 and 3 were the races that had more than one candidate turn in a filing petition to get on the ballot. Current Mitchell City Council members Kevin McCardle (Ward 2) and Jeff Smith (Ward 4) were unopposed and will begin new three-year terms in July.

What if I want to vote absentee?

Monday, June 7 is the last day of absentee voting for the combined city-school election. That takes place at City Hall, open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. A photo ID is required to obtain a ballot.