Gov. Noem appoints Schallenkamp, Greenway to Board of Technical Education

Appointments effective in November 2021

Mitchell Technical College.jpg
Mitchell Technical College.

Governor Kristi Noem has appointed Kay Schallenkamp and Brad Greenway to the South Dakota Board of Technical Education. Schallenkamp will replace Scott Knuppe, and Greenway will replace Rod Bowar. Both appointments are effective November 1, 2021.

“The new members of the Board of Technical Education will ensure that South Dakota’s technical colleges remain the very best in America,” said Noem. “Kay and Brad’s expertise will help put our kids and grandkids on a path to lifelong success.”

Schallenkamp served 41 years in higher education prior to her retirement in 2014. She served as President of Black Hills State University from 2006-2014 and President of Emporia State University (Kansas) from 1997-2006. Prior to that, she served as provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and Provost at Chadron State College (Nebraska). She started her higher education career at Northern State University in Aberdeen as a faculty member of communication disorders and later served as department chair and dean.

Kay Schallenkamp


Schallenkamp is currently on the Board of Directors for the Crazy Horse Memorial, Board of Trustees for Baker University (Kansas), and the Cultural and Diversity Committee for the Sanford Underground Lab. She previously served on the Board of Directors for the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation, the SD Board of Educational Standards, and the South Dakota Board of Junior Achievement. She also served as a member of the Board of Directors for the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, the North Central Association (now the Higher Learning Commission) and the Renaissance Group. In addition, she served as chair of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, the Presidents Council for NCAA Division II, and the National Teachers Hall of Fame, as well as the steering committee for the American College and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment. Schallenkamp served as a Consultant Evaluator for the Higher Learning Commission for 25 years.

Greenway attended one year at Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall, Minnesota before returning to Mitchell and graduating with an associate degree in Agriculture Management from Mitchell Technical Institute in 1984.

Brad Greenway

Locally, Greenway serves on the township board, Davison County Fair Board, has been involved with the Davison County Pork Council for 30 years, and served on the South Dakota Pork Producers Council from 2000 to 2015, including as president from 2005-2006. He served on the National Pork Board (Pork Checkoff) from 2009 to 2015. He most recently was a board member for U.S. Farmers & Ranchers in Action and served as chairman from 2016-2018.

Greenway has received several statewide awards including Pork All American, Governor’s 2014 Ag Ambassador of the Year, Mitchell Technical Institute Outstanding Alumnus of the Year in 2016, and together with his wife Peggy received the South Dakota Pork Promoters of the Year award in 2015. Greenway was selected as America’s Pig Farmer of the Year in 2016.

Greenway and his wife Peggy farm just west of Mitchell, where they run a diversified farm. Their two adult children, Mandi and Brent, live in Mitchell with their spouses. Brent has recently joined the family farm. Brad and Peggy enjoy spending time with their children and three grandchildren.

Erik Kaufman joined the Mitchell Republic in July of 2019 as an education and features reporter. He grew up in Freeman, S.D., graduating from Freeman High School. He graduated from the University of South Dakota in 1999 with a major in English and a minor in computer science. He can be reached at
What To Read Next
Sen. Julie Frye-Mueller, of Rapid City, is on her way toward reinstatement in the Senate as early as tomorrow, along with censure and "limited" access to LRC.
“I guarantee you that most of your ordinary, everyday constituents don't even have $1,000,” Rep. Jon Hansen, a Republican from Dell Rapids, said. “But you know who does? Corporate interests.”
"We need to throw out a mechanism to get those [excess] dollars back in the hands of the people," Rep. Chris Karr, of Sioux Falls, said of the $170 million proposal.
The Legislative Research Council staffer who made a complaint against Sen. Julie Frye-Mueller, of Rapid City, released a full account of the incident in a Jan. 30 statement.