Election results: Tuesday, June 2 primary

060320.N.DR.ELECTIONDAY7.jpg Voting stickers lay on a table for people to pick up as they walk out of the Davison County Fairgrounds after voting on Tuesday morning in Mitchell. (Matt Gade / Republic)
Voting stickers lay on a table for people to pick up as they walk out of the Davison County Fairgrounds after voting on Tuesday morning in Mitchell. (Matt Gade / Republic)

Check back with The Daily Republic as results become available from the Tuesday, June 2 primary.

  • District 20 House: Three Mitchell residents running for two Republican seats and the spots in Pierre, because there is no other challengers. Lance Koth 1,755, Paul Miskimins 1,535, Barry Volk 1,129. Story: Koth, Miskimins lead the way in District 20 races

  • District 19 House: In a close race, Rep. Kent Peterson and first-time candidate Jessica Bahmuller claimed Republican primary victories, beating out Rep. Marty Overweg. Bahmuller edged Overweg by 21 votes. The results is subject to a possible recount. Kent Peterson 1,881, Jessica Bahmuller 1,741, Marty Overweg 1,720.

  • District 21 Senate: The Republican primary between House Majority Leader Lee Qualm, of Platte, who is term-limited and looking to cross chambers. He faces Erin Tobin, a political first-timer from Winner. The winner will have to run again in the general election against Dan Kerner Andersson, a Democrat from Burke. Erin Tobin 2,154, Lee Qualm 1,366.

  • Mitchell City Council: Incumbent Steve Rice vs. Tim Goldammer for City Council Ward 1 seat. The other three City Council terms that were up in 2020 will go unchallenged, which means council members John Doescher, Dan Allen and Susan Tjarks will be in place to serve another three-year term. Steve Rice 348, Tim Goldammer 286. Story: Mitchell's Rice secures another City Council term with Tuesday's win

The following municipal races are taking place in communities around the region on Tuesday.
Andes Central School Board: Two open seats (three-year terms): Tootie Leah Loeffler 112, Will Bennett 95, Kristin Dvorak 79

Emery: Ward 3 City Council (two-year term): Eric Roskens 38, Clarissa Weber 21

Ethan: Town board (two seats available): Bob Riggs 29 and Gregg Thibodeau 29, Logan Sorenson 22

Freeman: Mayor (two-year term): Michael Walter 259, Terry Waterman 141


Freeman School Board: One, three-year term: Cody Fransen 294, Kerry Hofer 233

Gregory: Mayor (two-year term): Scott Anshutz 308, Justin Jelinek 132

Ward 1 City Council (two-year term): Kristi Drey 124, Mona Taggart 33

Jones County School Board: Two open seats (three-year terms): Levi Newsam 246, Rachel Talich 222, Cody W. Mckenzie 97, LaTonya Erikson 71, Rodney Mann 59

Plankinton: Ward 1 City Council (two-year term): Terrance Schuldt 41, Pam Vissia 36, Doug Meidinger 27

Platte: Ward 1 City Council (two-year term): Dave Carter 89, Ryan Lantz 77

Ward 3 City Council (two-year term): Cole Anderson 98, Randal Brumbaugh 17

Platte-Geddes School Board: Two open seats (three-year terms): Jess Sondgeroth 500, Duke Starr 486, Stephanie Leader 313, Tracy Harrington 140, Randal Brumbaugh 68


Spencer: Town Trustee (three-year term): Ron Reif 52, Alex Smart 12

Tripp: Mayor (two-year term): Scott Schelske 155, Tom Brown 31.

Ward 1 City Council (two-year term): Randy Squire 53, Loren Buchholz 12.

Tyndall: Ward 3 City Council (two-year term): Mike Elsberry 57, Larry Chester 37

Wessington Springs: Mayor (two-year term): Brian Bergeleen 225, Christie Curtis 165

Ward 1 City Council (two-year term): Ryan Knipfer 85, Kathy Voorhees 61

Ward 2 City Council (two-year term): Layton Schimke 60, Bernie Maxwell 46

Ward 3 City Council (two-year term): Patrick Fastnacht 87, Kim Christensen 45


The following county races are taking place in the primary election on Tuesday. The races will decide who wins the seat unless a general election challenger is noted.

Bon Homme: County Commission -- District 2: Edward Van Gerpen 134, Shon Whitwood 99

Treasurer: Jenn Knoll 700; Brad Kopp 215

Charles Mix: County Commissioner -- District 2: Colin Soukup 139, Neil Von Eschen 94

State’s Attorney: Steven Cotton 682, R-Wagner, Pamela Hein 361, R-Lake Andes

Douglas: County Commissioner -- District 4: Nathan Ymker 106, Ivan Lau 42, Joel Meyer 39

Hanson: County Commissioner -- District 2: Richard Waldera 87, Dennis Maiers 53

Lyman: County Commissioner -- At Large, Two Seats: Leslie Reuer 367, Brian Kraus 314, Bill Lengkeek 239

Sanborn: County Commissioner -- District 2: Craig Brueske 46, Donald Klinkner 37

Tripp: County Commissioner -- District 4: Joyce Kartak 127, Greg English 94

What To Read Next
Throughout the county party election season, stretching from mid-November to the end of January, delegates have succeeded in changing the makeup of key county parties, like Minnehaha and Pennington.
Members Only
“In our industry there aren’t a lot of young people in it. I like the fact that there are a lot of young people in agriculture here,” he said of the Mitchell area.
Members Only
After the departure of longtime superintendent Marje Kaiser and the hiring of Dan Trefz, who recently resigned, advocates say the specialty school needs help from lawmakers to reach its past heights.
Over the past year, the city has been mulling over bringing a secondary water source to Mitchell – a move Mayor Bob Everson said is aimed at positioning the city to grow.