BROOKINGS — A handful of area Class B schools and their performers were recognized by the South Dakota High School Activities Association at the state one-act play festival on Feb. 5-6.

The festival was split into three locations due to COVID-19, with Class AA schools performing at Brandon Valley High School, Class A schools at Rapid City Central High School and Class B schools at South Dakota State University in Brookings.

Two area Class B schools received group superior awards for their performances at the state festival. McCook Central was honored for its performance of “At the Bottom of Lake Missoula,” directed by Sylvia Johnson. Cast members included Angelina Krempges, Kaizha Blase, Paul Kaffar, Jessica Ventura, Cody Heinz, Jasmine Krempges, Kayle Lauck, Christina Jimenez, Rachel Schallenkamp and Shaidyn Hughes. Crew members included Megan Stiefvater, Sophia Kaffar and Griffin Stoffel

Menno received a superior rating for “Pandemic,” directed by Betsy Knodel and Martin Sieverding. The play was written by students Kyle Kyriss, Kaelea McCoy, Laura Fischer and Knodel. Cast members included McCoy, Kyriss, Madelyn Heckenlaible, Brady Fergen, Adrian Nusz, Carly Herrboldt, Bridget Vaith, Caden Fischer, Maggie Miller, Isabella Hogeland, Salome Carr, Josephine Stokes, Kaelie Derby, Alexis Hogeland, Chandler Dant, Layne Schmidt and Julia Buechler. Crew members included Alex Fischer, Hayden McNinch and Paige Dyk.

A number of area students were also honored for their individual contributions to their school’s productions, receiving superior ratings.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

In Class A, Winner’s Tessa Mann received a superior individual rating. She was the narrator in the school’s presentation of “Mixology,” directed by Sarah Taggart and Emily Moser.

For McCook Central, Angelina Krempges, Kaizha Blase, Rachel Schallenkamp, Megan Stiefvater received individual superior recognition. Nine Menno students received individual honors, including Kaelea McCoy, Kyle Kyriss, Brady Fergen, Adrian Nusz, Carly Herrboldt, Caden Fischer, Salome Carr, Alexis Hogeland and Chandler Dant.

Five Avon students were recognized in the school’s performance of “Tracks,” as directed by Loretta Knodel. Superior individual ratings were awarded to Haleigh Tjeerdsma, Noah Watchhorn, Rachael DeJong, Caleb Wallinga and Kley Heumiller.