Joe Childs, principal of Mitchell High School, was named recently as an outstanding administrator of South Dakota by the School Administrators of South Dakota.

The SASD held a luncheon for all eight recipients of the award recently at the Ramkota Convention Center in Pierre. Following the luncheon, the honored administrators were presented on the floors of the state House and Senate and recognized with a legislative commemoration.

The Outstanding Administrators Luncheon is an annual event sponsored by the School Administrators of South Dakota, a statewide professional organization for school administrators in the state.

Other recipients of the award were Matt Alley, elementary principal at West Central, Wendy Otheim, special education director at Brookings, Dave Preheim, assistant high school principal at Tea, Don Lyon, middle school principal at Meade County, Paul Lundberg, business manager at Brandon Valley, Joel Jorgenson, superintendent at Madison and Michael Amolins, curriculum director at Harrisburg.