PIERRE - Gov. Kristi Noem appointed M. Bridget Mayer Monday to serve as judge for the Sixth Judicial Circuit.

"Bridget has a strong history of serving her community and upholding the law," said Noem. "Her background and experience have prepared her well for this position, and I'm confident she will be an excellent judge."

"I am honored to serve as a circuit court judge," said Mayer. "I look forward to continuing my legal career and serving the people of South Dakota in this new capacity."

The appointment makes state history, according to Noem's senior adviser, Tony Venhuizen, who tweeted Monday that for the first time, a South Dakota judicial circuit will have all women as judges. Mayer joins Patricia DeVaney, Bobbi Rank and Christina Klinger on the bench in the circuit, with Klinger representing Noem's first judicial appointment of her term as governor.

Mayer grew up in Jefferson. After graduating from Jefferson High School, she attended Augustana College, the University of St. Thomas and the University of South Dakota School of Law, where she obtained her Juris Doctor.

For the past 30 years, Mayer has served as an assistant attorney general and supervising attorney, where she specializes in general criminal litigation. She has also led the Statewide Drug Prosecution Unit and served in the Appellate Division and the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. As part of her assignments, Mayer has been a longtime instructor at the law enforcement training academy in Pierre.

Mayer is a member of the State Bar of South Dakota and is admitted to practice before the courts of the State of South Dakota, U.S. Federal District Court and the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. She formerly served as a State Bar Commissioner for the Sixth Judicial Circuit.

Aside from her law practice, Mayer has volunteered with Junior Achievement for five years. She has also enjoyed coaching a girls middle school travelling basketball team.

Mayer lives in Pierre with her husband, Bob, and three children: J.R., Jake and Jordan Teresa.

The Sixth Judicial Circuit Court is served by four circuit judges and one magistrate and covers 14 counties: Bennett, Gregory, Haakon, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Todd and Tripp. The administrative services for the court is based in Pierre.