A last goodbye to 11 legislators

PIERRE--The Legislature has held the annual memorial service for legislators who died during 2017 or had previously passed on without a formal recognition.

(The Daily Republic file photo)

PIERRE-The Legislature has held the annual memorial service for legislators who died during 2017 or had previously passed on without a formal recognition.

Lawmakers said a last official goodbye Thursday to these eleven:

William "Bill" Clayton, R-Sioux Falls, House 1967-1969, age 93.

Richard "Dick" Gregerson, R-Sioux Falls, Senate 1979-1982, age 84.

Oscar Huber, R-Bowdle, House 1961-1972, age 100.


Homer Kandaras, D-Rapid City, Senate 1971-1976, age 88.

Howard Kennedy, R-Beresford, House 1981-1992, age 89.

Roger McKellips, D-Alcester, Senate 1977-1978 and 1981-1994, age 94.

Kenneth "Kenny" McNenny, R-Sturgis, House 1987-2000, Senate 2005-2008, age 82.

Robert "Bob" Miller, R-Kimball, Senate 1971-1974, age 80.

Clint Roberts, R-Presho, Senate 1978-1978, age 82.

Robert Schumacher, R-Rapid City, House 1963-1968, age 87.

Craig Tieszen, R-Rapid City, House 2009-2016, Senate 2017, age 68.


WORTH NOTING: Roberts and McKellips had a distinction in common.

Both lost their 1978 bids for governor to the same man.

Republican Bill Janklow, who was the state's attorney general at the time, defeated Roberts and a third candidate in the June primary.

McKellips meanwhile used a late burst of campaigning to upset Lt. Gov. Harvey Wollman for the Democratic nomination.

Janklow beat McKellips that November.

Roberts bounced back in 1980 and won western South Dakota's seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

But when the two seats were consolidated, Roberts lost the 1982 general election to the eastern seat held by Democrat Tom Daschle.

Roberts tried to come back in the 1986 Republican primary for governor. He wound up second in a four-candidate contest won by George S. Mickelson.


Mickelson went on to win that November. He defeated Democratic nominee Lars Herseth. It was the state's only contest featuring sons of past governors.

MUCH ADO: Remember the 39 sections of trust-law revisions that Rep. Susan Wismer, D-Britton, criticized so sharply a few days ago, when she compared South Dakota's protective financial environment to video lottery?

The 9-1 endorsement Wednesday by the House Judiciary Committee became a green light for the full House to take the same approach when HB 1072 came up for debate Thursday.

Representatives approved it 66-3.

Nays came from Republican Steve Livermont of Martin and Democrats Steven McCleerey of Sisseton and Wismer.

The overwhelming acceptance perhaps reflects a willingness among lawmakers to keep South Dakota at the top of the first tier of states regarding regulation of trusts.

Next stop for the measure is a Senate committee.

NOTHING FILED: The Federal Elections Commission website didn't show any U.S. House of Representative listing for state Sen. Neal Tapio as of Thursday night.

Tapio, R-Watertown, has drawn attention to himself with varying success during the first two weeks of the 2018 legislative session.

He appears to be testing whether there is room for another candidate in the 2018 primary contest for the Republican nomination to South Dakota's seat in the 435-member U.S. House of Representatives.

Two Republicans have been openly running for it since last year.

Dusty Johnson is a past elected member of the state Public Utilities Commission and was chief of staff for the first term of Gov. Dennis Daugaard.

Shantel Krebs served 10 years as a legislator before her 2014 election as South Dakota secretary of state.

The one Democrat in the U.S. House race is Tim Bjorkman, a retired circuit judge.

A GREAT MIND: Working behind the scenes on Bjorkman's campaign has been Drey Samuelson, who was the career-long top aide to now-retired U.S. Sen. Tim Johnson.

Samuelson helped the under-known Johnson to a surprise victory in the 1986 Democratic primary for the U.S. House seat, getting past fellow legislator Jim Burg.

Johnson went on to win a U.S. Senate seat in 1996, taking out Republican incumbent Larry Pressler. Johnson retired rather than seek re-election in 2014.

Republican Mike Rounds, a past state senator from Pierre and a past two-term governor, won the U.S. Senate primary and general elections in 2014.

What To Read Next
Discussion will take place during the 6 p.m. meeting on Monday at City Hall
Lawmakers have said it is likely only one is affordable at this time without cutting programs or adding other taxes or revenue streams
Members Only
Although Mitchell's rates would be increase, the proposed equitable rate structure could lessen the increased costs for residential customers' water and sewer bills.
“We see that when things happen in the coastal areas, a few years later, they start trending toward the Midwest,” said Rep. Ben Krohmer, serving his first term in the House.