Daily Republic sports reporter Ryan Deal is one of two finalists for the National Sports Media Association's South Dakota Sportswriter of the Year award.

Deal won the honor in 2017 and 2018. He covers a wide variety of area sports and is the newspaper's primary beat writer covering Dakota Wesleyan University men's basketball and area high school sports. Deal, who hails from Timber Lake, has worked at The Daily Republic since July 2016.

Jeremy Hoeck, of the Yankton Press and Dakotan, is the other finalist for the award. KYNT sportscaster Scott Kooistra, John Thayer of the Coyote Radio Network and Tyler Merriam of the South Dakota State University Radio Network are the finalists for the state’s sportscaster of the year award.

Winners will be announced during the second week of January. Awards will be presented during the NSMA’s 61st annual awards weekend, June 27-29.