FAM boys, Hanson girls capture Irene-Wakonda titles

IRENE -- Both with three runners in the top-10, Freeman Academy/Marion boys and Hanson girls claimed team titles at the Irene-Wakonda Invitational on Wednesday.

The Bearcats finished with 12 points, while the Beavers won the girls title with 20 points.

Individually, Freeman Academy/Marion’s Titus Roesler was the individual boys champ after he covered the 5,000-meter run in 16:35.0. Menno’s Joseph Grassmid (17:36.64) and Canistota’s Josiah Schroeder (17:47.46) were second and third, respectively. Menno’s Kadeyn Ulmer (17:51.74) took fourth and Freeman Academy/Marion’s Tavin Schroeder (17:56.00) claimed fifth. FAM’s Thalen Schroeder (18:21.87) took sixth.

On the girls side, Gayville-Volin’s Madison Fairley was the individual champ in 17:53.75. FAM’s Jada Koerner (19:50.54) and Menno’s Morgan Edelman (19:58.53) finished second and third, respectively. Centerville’s Lillie Eide (20:26.01) and Hanson’s Cadence Jarding (20:30.76) claimed fourth and fifth, respectively. Also for Hanson, Alyssa Moschell (21:01.42) and Eliza Oltmanns (21:10.70) went ninth and 12th, respectively, to power the team win.

What To Read Next