Everson takes out petition to run for Mitchell Board of Education

Petitions can be taken out a school business manager's office


MITCHELL — A second petition to run for the Mitchell Board of Education has been taken out, according to Mitchell School District officials.

Administrators with the Mitchell School District confirmed Friday that Deb Everson had taken out a nominating petition for the board seat currently held by Matt Christiansen. Christiansen has both taken out and returned a valid petition and will appear on the election ballot in June.

Those interested in becoming a candidate for the board can take out and return nominating petitions at the Mitchell School District business office, located at 821 N. Capital Street in Mitchell. Petitions could be taken out beginning March 1 and any taken out must be returned to the school business office no later or mailed not later than 5 p.m. March 28, 2023. The office is open from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Seats on the Mitchell Board of Education are at-large bids and are for three-year terms.

Those who file valid nominating petitions will appear on the ballot for the race at the June 6 joint election with the city of Mitchell.


The Mitchell Board of Education is made up of five members. Current members of the board are Christiansen, Deb Olson, Terry Aslesen, Shawn Ruml and Brittni Flood.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Mitchell Republic." Often, the "Mitchell Republic" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local