Weather Forecast


US Supreme Court says SD can charge online sales tax

Wednesday's sports briefs: 11/20/2013

DWU senior football players are Quarterback Club’s guests

By The Daily Republic

The Dakota Wesleyan University senior football players are today’s guests at the Quarterback Club meeting.

0 Talk about it

The Tigers (8-3, 7-2 GPAC) had 12 seniors on this year’s squad.

The meeting begins at 7:30 p.m. at The Depot in Mitchell.

37 participate in 4th annual lawn bowling tourney

By The Daily Republic

Thirty-seven people participated in the fourth annual lawn bowling tournament, which began Oct. 13 and concluded Nov. 4 at Lakeview Golf Course in Mitchell.

The participants were split into three divisions. Rod Titze won the singles title over Wayne Gerlach 11-8. Janis and Wayne Gerlach won the pairs title over Marlene and Ron Jendersee 11-10.

Donna Bultje, Lori Schocker, Lawrence Haiar and Ron Ravellette teamed up to win the rinks championship after beating the team of Janis Gerlach, Bob Oberembt, Gerald Bultje and Rod Titze 9-8.

The tournament concluded the lawn bowling season, which hosted 1,702 during the season.

Five Seahawks make all-Cornbelt football first team

By The Daily Republic

Class 9AA football state champion Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan had five players selected as all-Cornbelt Conference first-team selections.

Running back Wade Miller, lineman Tyler Myers, tight end J.D. Shape, defensive back Blake Bartscher and linebacker Jordan Grosdidier were each named to the first team for the Seahawks.

The Howard Tigers had four players selected, headlined by conference Most Valuable Player junior fullback Luke Loudenburg.

Joining Loudenburg on the list is lineman Nick Pardy, linebacker Bailey Neises and defensive back Jordan Kuhle.

Also on the first team is Hanson’s Jacob Paradeis, Andrew Nelson and Marshall Miller; Canistota’s Colton Golder, Matt Anderson and Nick Hofer; Mount Vernon/Plankinton’s Cote Hinker; Menno/Marion’s Nick Gortmaker and Freeman’s Joe Weier.

At left is a complete list of the Cornbelt honors.

Flitner headlines all-WGPC team

By The Daily Republic

PRESHO — Lyman’s Anna Flitner was named the Western Great Plains Conference Most Valuable Player, it was announced Tuesday.

Flitner, an outside hitter, was also selected to the all-conference first-team. Joining her on the first team is defensive specialist Sara Herman.

Setter Bailey Almond was selected to the second team and middle hitter Jessica Welter was picked for third team.

Five Pirates named all-Big East Conference

By The Daily Republic

Class 9B football state champion Avon landed five players on the All-Big East Conference team.

Running backs Devin Tolsma and Brandon Kocmich, quarterback Logan Mudder, lineman Jacob Reeves and tight end Jacob Knodel were each selected for the Pirates.

Gregory placed four on the list in quarterback Kurt Braun, wide receiver Andrew Taggart and running backs Derek Stukel and Brody Boes.

Also selected is Scotland’s Seth Ireland, Anthony Walloch and Dan Stibral; Burke/South Central’s Turner Serr, Sam Hazen and Jordan Jones; Andes Central’s Joey Evans and Darrin Hopkins, and Tripp-Delmont/Armour’s Shane Koster.

Campbell to serve as honorary coach at Coyote game

By The Daily Republic

Mitchell resident Elizabeth Campbell will serve as an honorary coach for the Drake University women’s basketball team Thursday as it takes on the University of South Dakota at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls.

Campell specializes in obstetrics and gynecology at the Avera Women’s Clinic in Mitchell. She played for Drake from 1982 to ‘86 and was named team captain in her senior season.

The game tips off at 7 p.m.

Groundbreaking set for new Vikings stadium

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — The groundbreaking for the new Minnesota Vikings stadium will be on Dec. 3.

The Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority confirmed the date Tuesday. It’s the official start of construction on the nearly $1 billion football stadium that will be built at the current Metrodome site.

The Vikings will finish their current season in the Metrodome, with the last home game scheduled for Dec. 29. The stadium is likely to be demolished in January or February.

The team will play the 2014 and 2015 seasons at TCF Bank Stadium on the University of Minnesota campus. The new stadium is supposed to be ready for the 2016 season.

The Sports Facilities Authority is meeting Friday to approve a guaranteed maximum price agreement of $975 million with builder Mortenson Construction.