Five South Dakota women have been selected as finalists for Dakotafest's inaugural Women Farmer/Rancher of the Year award.

The finalists include, in alphabetical order, Cathy Eichacker, of Salem; and Heather Maude, of Caputa; Amanda Radke, of Mitchell; Jackie Schlagel, of Raymond, and Hope Wenzel, of Wessington Springs.

The award winner will be announced in a virtual event Aug. 20. The event, which is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. on Aug. 20, will include a keynote address from American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee Chair Sherry Saylor. The winner will also receive a cash prize.

The annual farm show was canceled in June. It was slated to be the 25th annual show at the site along Interstate 90 on the edge of Mitchell. It typically includes more than 500 exhibitors covering 50 acres but COVID-19 forced event organizer IdeaAg Group to cancel its shows.

Newsletter signup for email alerts