BATH - On Dec. 3, nearly 600 FFA members from across South Dakota met in Pierre for the State FFA Leadership Development Events (LDEs). Students qualified through district competitions, advancing the top two teams and top three individuals from each of the seven FFA districts. FFA members and chapters were recognized for their success in 11 leadership areas at the awards banquet.

State-winning teams and individuals highlighted below, now advance to the National FFA Leadership Development Events in Indianapolis next fall.

Parliamentary Procedure teams

Consisting of six members per team, demonstrate an FFA business meeting.

Results - 1. Menno. Team members are: Logan Klaudt, Tess Oplinger, Abby Fischer, Jaedyn Oplinger, Aidan Friesen, Eisley Sayler, alternate Brittney Massey and Advisor Brady Duxbury; 2. Highmore; 3. Harrisburg; 4. Willow Lake; 5. McCook Central.

All-State Parliamentary Procedure team

Comprised of the top individual officer from each position in the Parliamentary Procedure CDE. These competitors are the best-of-the-best in their respective position. Those selected are: President: Haley Husted, Highmore; Members At Large: Tess Oplinger, Menno; Abby Fischer, Menno; Veronica Knippling, Highmore; Trinity Peterson, Willow Lake; Jacob Wagner, McCook Central.

Prepared Public Speaking

Each contestant presents a 6-8 minute agriculture-oriented speech and answers five minutes of related questions.

Results -First: Danika Gordon, Sturgis; second, Sydney Hoffman, Bridgewater-Emery; third, Hunter Eide, Gettysburg; fourth, Sami Wisman, Tri-Valley; fifth, Danielle Houghtaling, Doland; sixth, Molly Dye, Deuel; seventh, Grace Nelson, Madison; and eighth, Jessica Boekelheide, Northwestern Area.

Extemporaneous Public Speaking

An unrehearsed 4-6 minute speech is written and presented onsite. Each contestant is allowed only 30 minutes to prepare.

Results - First, Isabel Roth, Harrisburg; second, Kayle Lauck, McCook Central; third, Madeline Lowe, Lennox; fourth, Grace Nelson, Madison; fifth, Samantha Pappas, Groton; sixth, Kristin Kotas, Bridgewater-Emery; seventh, Mitchell Vanderwal, Northwestern Area; eighth, Landon Wolter, Wessington Springs.

Employment Interview Skills

Challenges FFA members to complete a job application, write a letter of application and resume, participate in an actual interview and compose a follow-up letter.

Results -First, Danika Gordon, Sturgis; Tayte Gleason, Dell Rapids; third, Reece Ullerich, West Central; fourth, Randi Tivis, Sturgis; fifth, Anna Schwader, Howard; sixth, Kadyn Nolz, West Central; seventh, Shania Knutson, Viborg-Hurley; eighth, Samantha Frickson, Bowdle.

Ag Sales team members

Work together to develop a strategy for selling pre-determined products to specific customer scenarios. Participants also practice their individual sales skills by selling an agricultural product to a customer.

Results - First: McCook Central. Team members are: Rylee Klinkhammer, Tanner Peterson, Hadley Stiefvater, Cole Grasma. Advisors Terry Rieckman and Tracy Chase; second, Brookings; third: Rapid City; fourth: Deuel; fifth: Northwestern.

Junior Conduct of Meetings

Event is designed for high school freshmen to present a mock FFA meeting.

Results - First: McCook Central. Team members are: Joe Loudenburg, Kyle Schoon, Emma Heinz, Sydney Grasma, Gracie Wurtz, Elana Krutsinger, Ella Stiefvater, Megan Stiefvater and Advisors Terry Rieckman and Tracy Chase; second: Lennox-Sundstrom; third: Hot Springs; fourth: Willow Lake; fifth: Highmore.

Creed Speaking participants

Recite the FFA Creed and answer questions posed by the judges. The results were: first: Sierra Hilgenkamp, Wall; second: Matea Gordon, Sturgis; third: Ella Stiefvater, McCook Central; fourth: Rachel Rickenbach, Hot Springs; fifth: Alana Howard, Miller; Sixth: Kathryn Rausch, Hoven; seventh: Jacob Tvinnereim, Lake Preston; eighth: Annalise Kludt, Menno.

Marketing Plan

Teams of students determine a local community need and create a complete strategy for marketing a new agricultural product or company to fill that need.

Results - First: Lennox. Team members are Kayleigh Thill, Alexis Medenwald, Gemma Sanchez, Advisor Jim Wilson; second: Bowdle; third: Hot Springs; fourth: Harrisburg; fifth: Parker.

Ag Issues

A team of 3-7 students discuss the pros and cons of a major agricultural issue facing their area.

Results - First: Wall. Team members are Lillyanna Wagner, Camri Elshere, Katy Humphrey, Abbianna Weinzetl, Lexy Dunker, Jenna Elshere and Adviser Dani Herring; second, Milbank; third: Parker; fourth: Sturgis; fifth: Beresford.

Ag Broadcasting/Journalism

Students have 30 minutes to prepare a five-minute agricultural radio newscast and then "air" it.

Results - First: Cassidy Sayler, Viborg-Hurley; second: Taren Tschetter, Doland; third: Jessica Kot, Kimball; fourth: Alicia VanderWal, Sioux Valley; fifth: Maria Roghair, Sunshine Bible Academy; sixth: Morgan Anderson, Watertown: seventh: Kayle Lauck, McCook Central; eighth: Ashton Olivier, Chester.

Ag Communications

Teams of students play the role of communications consultants to develop and present a media plan for an assigned scenario. Members also complete Editing and Communications tests.

Results - First: Harrisburg. Team members are: Kayla Smeenk, Madison Heyn, Michaela Heyn, and Allyson Beninga. Advisors are Tara Fastert and Todd Marks; second, McCook Central; third: West Central; fourth, Hot Springs; fifth, Belle Fourche.