The Daily Republic won 37 awards - the most of any daily newspaper in the state - in the South Dakota Newspaper Association's 2018 Better Newspapers Contest.

The awards were announced at the annual South Dakota Newspaper Association convention held Thursday through Saturday in Medora, N.D. The event was a joint convention with the North Dakota Newspaper Association.

The Daily Republic won the Sweepstakes award, and the newspaper's cops/courts reporter, Ellen Bardash, was named the state's Outstanding Young Journalist.

The Daily Republic competes in a division for newspapers with circulations up to 10,000. The Sweepstakes award is presented to the newspaper that compiles the most points from the individual awards.

Bardash is the eighth overall Daily Republic winner of the Outstanding Young Journalist award since its inception in 2000. One winner is chosen annually from a weekly newspaper and a daily newspaper, and entrants must be younger than 30.

"Since she started at The Daily Republic nearly one year ago, Ellen has made a great impact on our newspaper each day," Managing Editor Luke Hagen said. "She has a strong work ethic, and better yet she brings a positive attitude to work each day. We're all really proud of her for this honor."

The Daily Republic won eight first-place awards, including best newspaper website. That category was among all daily newspapers in the state.

Following are the awards won by The Daily Republic and its staff. The awards are for work published in 2018.


Best 2x4 ad: Laura Fosness, second; Jen Phillips, first.

Best advertising sales tool: Deb Townsend, second.

Best classified section: Daily Republic staff, third.

Best multiple advertiser special section: Deb Townsend, third.

Best single ad idea: Judy Goldhammer, second.

Best use of art service: Tom Stevens, third.

Best use of color: Karmen McCain, third.

Best use of local photography: Karmen McCain, third; Deb Townsend, second; Judy Goldhammer, first.

Most original creative idea: Lorie Hansen, third.


Best feature story: Mark Andersen, third.

Best feature photo: Faith Morgan, third; Matt Gade, second.

Best feature series: Luke Hagen, third.

Best headline writing: Luke Hagen, third.

Best editorial writing: Luke Hagen, first.

Best local general interest column: Luke Hagen, third; Terry Woster, first.

Best local humorous column: Terry Woster, third.

Best news series: Luke Hagen, first.

Best spot news photo: Ellen Bardash, third; Matt Gade, second.

Best news story: Sam Fosness, first.

Best photo series: Matt Gade, first.

Best sports column: Marcus Traxler, third.

Best sports photo: Matt Gade, second.

Best sports reporting: Luke Hagen, third.

Best sports series: Marcus Traxler, third; Ryan Deal, second.

Best newspaper website: Daily Republic staff, first.

Best Freedom of Information project: Ellen Bardash and Luke Hagen, second.

Public service: Daily Republic staff, second.

General excellence: The Daily Republic, second.

Outstanding Young Journalist winner: Ellen Bardash.

Sweepstakes: The Daily Republic.