Weather Forecast



May 10, 2016
MHS student named Presidential Scholar
May 10, 2016 - 10:19am
School board bumps salaries for Graves, other admins
May 10, 2016 - 10:18am
May 9, 2016
MHS sophomore selected for national music camp
May 9, 2016 - 5:31pm
School board to consider bumping teacher salaries
May 9, 2016 - 10:24am
April 30, 2016
From left, Mitchell High School seniors Shelby Riggs, Ryan Solberg and Kelsie Mastel pose Wednesday morning in the MHS auditorium. Each student was chosen as a semifinalist in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Out of 11 semifinalists in the state, four are in The Daily Republic's print circulation area: three from MHS, and one from Plankinton, James Mayclin (not pictured). (Candy DenOuden/Republic)
A presidential distinction
April 30, 2016 - 9:40am
April 28, 2016
Putnam re-elected to National School Boards Association
April 28, 2016 - 5:45pm
Dakota Wesleyan University students Ian Hyde, left, and Marian Ragels, right, are pictured on screen along with George Watsky, far right, during the filming of a documentary about Watsky Wednesday afternoon in Dayton Hall on the DWU campus. (Caitlynn Peetz/Republic)
Small campus shines in big spotlight
April 28, 2016 - 11:41am
April 26, 2016
Dylan Kirchmeier, left, of Webster (partially hidden), and Anna Madsen, center, of Ruthton, Minnesota, talk with University of South Dakota adjunct instructor Marshall Damgaard, right, about the GEAR UP map that Kirchmeier and other political science students assembled on a wall at Dakota Hall on the University of South Dakota campus. Damgaard teaches the class of students involved with the map. (Bob Mercer/For The Daily Republic)
USD students research GEAR UP controversy
April 26, 2016 - 5:32pm
April 25, 2016
School board praises fine arts center's progress
April 25, 2016 - 9:17pm
Local students qualify for national HOSA, SkillsUSA contests
April 25, 2016 - 8:16am
April 21, 2016
 Patty VerSteeg, center, a teacher at L.B. Williams, has a laugh watching a video made in her honor that is shown during the elementary employee recognition program on Wednesday in the Mitchell Career and Technical Education Academy building. VerSteeg and Mary Marchand were honored for their years of service with Mitchell Public Schools and recognized as they're retiring at the conclusion of this school year. (Matt Gade/Republic)
Longtime teachers honored before retirement
April 21, 2016 - 10:23am
April 19, 2016
Governor seeking interns for fall term
April 19, 2016 - 5:21pm
April 15, 2016
MTI awarded NSF grant
April 15, 2016 - 4:36pm
April 12, 2016
Olson, Kenkel retain school board seats unchallenged
April 12, 2016 - 5:51pm
April 11, 2016
This year's members of the Mitchell High School chapter of the National Art Honor Society are, front row from left: Emily Croucher, Andrea Konz, Samantha Johnson, Kate Collins, Samantha Schumacher, Megan Sebert and Cara Thompson. Back row, from left: Gabrielle Dodd, Kelsie Mastel, Corbin Aguilar, Rachel Bruntz, Jessica Schladweiler, Maggie Sebert, Ember Wagaman and Jenna Weich. (Candy DenOuden)
MHS awards first visual arts varsity letters
April 11, 2016 - 8:28pm