Weather Forecast


Three individuals, two girls’ teams announced to MHS Athletic Hall

Three individuals and two teams were announced Wednesday as the inductees for the Class of 2013 Mitchell High School Athletic Hall of Fame. Paul Conrad, class of 1972; Marilyn Wiblemo-Berry, class of 1976; Dean Jacobsen, class of 1986; the 1990 girls’ cross country team; and the 1990 girls’ basketball team will be inducted Sept. 21 as a part of homecoming week. Conrad was a running back for the football team and also state shot put champion.

Wiblemo-Berry was a track athlete, basketball player and gymnast at Mitchell High.

Jacobsen was a member of the basketball team in his senior season when the Kernels won their third consecutive state championship. He was also a state champion track athlete and a football player.

The 1990 girls’ cross country team was coached by Marcy Jones. It was the first girls’ athletic state champion team for the school. The 1990 girls’ basketball team, which went 22-2 and won the state title, was coached by Gary Munsen and was the school’s second girls’ state champion team.

There will also be a special reunion of the 2003 state championship volleyball team, which was coached by Deb Thill. The team will be recognized at the hall of fame banquet and a volleyball match at 7 p.m. Sept. 21 against Brandon Valley.

Homecoming week runs Sept. 16-21. The Mitchell football team plays Spearfish Sept. 20 and the soccer and volleyball teams play thesame day as the hall of fame induction.

Members of the 1990 girls’ cross country and basketball teams and the 2003 volleyball team are asked to contact Mitchell Activities Director Geoff Gross at Geoffrey.gross for more details and ticket reservations. The players’ families also can contact Gross.