Weather Forecast


MHS banquet honors athletes

Mitchell High School student Alex Herrick, right, poses for a photo after winning the Adam Aslesen Memorial Leadership Award/Scholarship with presenter Cheryle Aslesen at the MHS athletic banquet Wednesday at the Corn Palace in Mitchell. (Nick McCutcheon/Republic)

The Daily Republic announced Alex Herrick and Macy Miller as its most valuable athletes at the Mitchell High School athletic awards banquet Wednesday at the Corn Palace.

The awards were among a number announced at the annual event sponsored by the Mitchell Athletic Booster Club.

“It takes hundreds of people, thousands of hours to do what they do for Mitchell athletics and I would like to thank them all,” Mitchell activities director Geoff Gross said.

Herrick, a senior, was a standout for the Mitchell High School football and wrestling teams during the 2013-14 school year. He reached the 152-pound state championship match at the Class A wrestling tournament in February.

Miller led the Kernel girls basketball team to a runner-up finish for the second straight season, breaking numerous school and state records along the way. Miller, a senior, also plays for the Mitchell girls golf team and is signed to play basketball for South Dakota State University in the fall.

Senior Emma Schmidt took home hustler awards for both volleyball and girls track and field, while winning the Mike Miller Scholarship, a CorTrust/MHS Booster Club Scholarship, a Golden “M” Award and the KMIT Radio Student-Athlete of the Year.

Mitchell golf coach Rob Marchand was named the Tom Maxwell/KORN Coach of the Year.

“I would say that no coach has more knowledge or love for their sport than this man,” Gross said of Marchand, who was also named the Bill Timmins Fan of the Year.

Other awards included (scholarship amount): Adam Aslesen Memorial Leadership Award/Scholarship: Alex Herrick ($1,000); Jill McCormick Scholarship Award: Torrie Michels ($500); Mike Miller Scholarships: Emma Schmidt, Torrie Michels (amount unknown); No eligible candidates for the Dave Brewer award; Assistant Coach of the Year: Christy Wittstruck (gymnastics); Golden “M” awards (participation in three varsity sports): Beau Brown, Kanin Nelson, Shelly Iburg, Erin Farnham, Emma Schmidt, Taylor Volesky, Tyler Larson, Ellie Rew, Caleb Larson, Kaelyn Kaul. CorTrust/MHS Booster Club Scholarships: Tyson Allen, Trisha Flemmer, Kara Hanson, Alex Herrick, Shelly Iburg, Gramm Johnson, Chase Klingaman, Luke Mauer, Darby Weiss, Taylor Wood ($490.72).

Hustler awards

Each team also had a Hustler Award winner, which was voted on by the athletes of each team and handed out by the head coach.

They were: girls track and field: Emma Schmidt; boys track and field: Luke Mauer and Ben Prill; winter sideline cheer: Natalie Kobes and Dawson Eastburn; girls golf: Macy Miller; boys tennis: Beau Brown; boys golf: Jacob Rice; girls tennis: Hailey Smith; girls soccer: Kayla Stangeland; boys soccer: Matt Hellman; swimming: Josh Brooks; girls basketball: Torrie Michels; boys basketball: Neil Schlimgen; gymnastics: Ellie Rew, Rebecca Sadler and Quinci Herll; wrestling: Landon Neugebauer; girls cross country: Karla Resindez; boys cross country: Luke Bartl; competitive cheer: Kerri Baus; competitive dance: Kerri Baus; football: Matt Larson and Tyler Larson; football cheerleading: Paige Grace; volleyball: Emma Schmidt; baseball: Matt Larson; softball: Andrea Konz.