Weather Forecast


Kernels have two named to all-ESD wrestling team

Two Mitchell Kernels were named to the all-Eastern South Dakota Conference wrestling team, it was announced Thursday.

Senior Alex Herrick and junior Landon Neugebauer represented Mitchell on the list, which was made up of 29 wrestlers and voted on by the ESD coaches. Aberdeen Central has the most wrestlers named with eight, followed by Pierre with five, Brookings with four, Brandon Valley and Huron with three, Yankton with two and Harrisburg and Watertown each with one.

Herrick finished the regular season with a 39-9 record and is the fourth seed heading into the Class A state tournament at 152 pounds.

Mitchell head coach Travis Carpenter said Herrick, who went 8-0 in conference duals this season, has been a leader for the Kernel program on and off the mat.

“He’s done a great job and has been the most consistent for us,” Carpenter said. “I’m just happy for him and proud of the effort he has given us over the years.”

Neugebauer, who had to sit out last season with a knee injury, went 24-11 at 138 pounds this season. Neugebauer is also ranked fourth heading into state.

“He has worked hard to get in the wrestling mentality and it’s difficult to get back in the groove after you sit out a year,” Carpenter said. “For him to get on the all-conference list is great.”

Both wrestlers will hit the mat today at the Class A state tournament, which begins at 10 a.m. in Rapid City.

All-Eastern South Dakota Conference wrestling team

Aberdeen Central: Tyson Mitzel (12), John Frisco (11), Cole Carlson (12), Dalton Cox (12), Mitchell Johnson (12), Grayson Neuharth (11), Sam Schaunaman (11), Zach Russman (12); Brandon Valley: Adam Presler (12), Wyatt Winter (110, Andrew Sorensen (10); Brookings: Jacob Puppe (10), Justin Nixon (10), Nick Hanson (12), Peter Hansen (11); Harrisburg: Matt Schirado (11); Huron: Chet Glanzer (12), Wyatt Schillingstad (12), Tyler Kleinsasser (12); Mitchell: Alex Herrick (12), Landon Neugebauer (11); Pierre: (Austin Senger (8), Jebben Keyes (10), Tanner Monfore (12), Dylan Bennett (12), Dawson Monfore (11); Watertown: James Suter (11); Yankton: Spencer Huber (10), Casey Skillingstad.

Brooke Cersosimo
Brooke Cersosimo is The Daily Republic's sports editor.