Weather Forecast


MHS wrestling team gets 2 wins at ESD triangular

The Mitchell Kernel wrestling team beat Yankton and Harrisburg in an Eastern South Dakota triangular Friday.

“I was real happy with the kids and how they came together as a team,” said Mitchell wrestling coach Travis Carpenter, whose team topped Yankton 52-21 and Harrisburg 45-36. “The kids really came through tonight and did what they had to do to score bonus points.”

Of Mitchell’s 45 matches junior varsity and varsity matches, the Kernels only lost six.

Mitchell’s Alex Herrick and Preston Skinner won both of their matches by pin. Ethan Parr also won both of his matches, including a victory over Yankton’s Casey Skillingstad, who previously beaten Parr twice this season. Tyson Sprinkel also earned two victories Friday.

“I thought Ethan Parr wrestled well tonight,” Carpenter said. “I also thought Chase Klingaman did real well and I was real happy with Mitch Morgan, who got a tough win over a Yankton kid.”

Mitchell hits the mat again Jan. 18, at the Jerry Opbroek Invitational in Mitchell.

Mitchell 45, Harrisburg 36

106: Jacob Hassen, H, win by Forfeit; 113: Nick Schirado, H, win by forfeit; 120: Taylor Dalen, H, win by forfeit; 126: Briggs Havlik, M, pinned Ryan Vanderwaal, H;132: Chayden Carpenter, H, pinned Trey Hohn, M;138:Zach Gross, H, win by injury Landon Neugebaur, M;145: Ethan Parr, M, pinned William Kilgore, H;152: Alex Herrick, M, pinned Sam Kilgore, H; 160: Tanner Vilhauer, M,win by forfeit;170:Matt Larson, M, win by forfeit;182: Preston Skinner, M, pinned Lane Warzecha, H;195: Matt Schriado,H, win by forfeit; 220: Tyson Sprinkel, M, pinned Austin Harris, H; 285:Chase Klingaman, M, dec. Kyle Hansen, H.

Mitchell 52, Yankton 21

106: Cody Vornhagen, Y, win by forfeit; 113: Bashir Abd Al Kreem, Y, win by forfeit; 120: Ryan Lucht, Y, win by forfeit; 126: Spencer Huber, Y, dec. Briggs Havlik, M;132: Trey Hohn, M, pinned Skylar Elle, Y; 138: Landon Neugebauer, M, pinned Jamee Bruegman, Y;145: Ethan Parr, M, dec. Casey Skillingstad, Y; 152: Tanner Vilhauer, M, pinned Jordan Lucht, Y; 160: Alex Herrick, M, pinned Ryan Sternhagen, Y;170: Matt Larson, M, pinned Cody Hanzlik, Y;182: Preston Skinner, M, pinned Dylan Lynde, Y;195: Tyson Sprinkel, M, Maj. dec. Brock Folkers, Y; 220: Chase Klingaman, M pinned Zach Hanzlik, Y; 285: Mitch Morgan, M, dec. Landon Binder, Y.