Weather Forecast


MHS wrestling falls to Aberdeen Central

Mitchell senior 152-pounder Alex Herrick wrestles Aberdeen Central’s Grayson Neuharth Thursday in an Eastern South Dakota Conference dual in Aberdeen. Herrick won 3-2 in 2OT. (John Davis/Aberdeen American News)

ABERDEEN — The Mitchell Kernel wrestling team fell to Aberdeen Central 52-20 Thursday in Aberdeen.

The Kernels got wins from Trey Hohn at 132 pounds, Landon Neugebauer at 138, Alex Herrick at 152 and Chase Klingaman at 220.

Hohn defeated Collin Haar by pin, while Neugebauer won by technical fall over Dexter Hanson, Herrick earned a 3-2 2OT decision over Grayson Neuharth and Klingaman pinned Brian Reisenauer.

“If you look at the results it doesn’t indicate it, but we actually wrestled well,” Mitchell wrestling coach Travis Carpenter said. “We had some close matches against one of the best teams in the state.”

Mitchell dropped 10 matches to Aberdeen, but five of those were by forfeit, as the Kernels had a handful of open weight classes.

Carpenter said the Kernels don’t have a 106, 113, 120 or 170-pound wrestler this season. Mitchell was also without 195-pounder Tyson Sprinkel, who was absent due to sickness.

“I think the kids who stepped up on the mat did some good things for us and hopefully by the time we hit the regional mat we will be ready to go,” Carpenter said.

The Kernels are back in action Thursday in a dual meet against Chamberlain at 7 p.m. at Mitchell High School.

Aberdeen Central 52, Mitchell 20

Individual results: 106: Austin Cihak, AC, win by forfeit; 113: Josh Moore AC, win by forfeit 120: Trevor Hieb, AC win by forfeit; 126: Seth Moore, AC, def. Briggs Havlik; 132: Trey Hohn, M, def. Collin Haar, AC; 138: Landon Neugebauer, M def. Dexter Hanson, AC; 145: Zach Russman, AC, def. Ethan Parr, M,; 152: Alex Herrick, M, def. Grayson Neuharth, AC; 160: Tyson Mitzel, AC def. Matt Larson, M; 170: John Frisco, AC win by forfeit; 182: Cole Carlson, AC def. Preston Skinner, M; 195: Dalton Cox, AC win by forfeit; 220: Chase Klingaman, M, def. Brian Reisenauer, AC; 285: Sam Schaunaman, AC def. Mitch Morgan, M.